Adding Placeable objects to azone generated map files
An issue with the maps generated by azone at present is that they do not include
placeable objects. Many placeable objects are inconsequential for LOS, e.g. trees, boulders, wall decorations, however there are some large/important objects that are classed as 'placeable', e.g. some bridges and buildings. For example, the buildings in Potranquility (bank etc). If you fear a mob in those buildings they will just run straight through the walls, and some of the bankers are sunk up into their neck in the ground because as far as LOS/BestZ is concerned, the buildings don't exist. I have spent the last couple of days adding the ability to azone to include placeable objects in the map files. While it is not ready to release yet, mainly because you currently have to edit the source to specify the id numbers of the placeable models you want included, here is a potranquility map for people to test with (this includes the geometry for the walls and floors of the buildings I referred to above (and that is the only extra thing it includes, i.e. no trees etc). http://www.rama.demon.co.uk/potranquility.rar If you fear in mob in the buildings before and after dropping this into your Maps directory, you will see the difference. You can also try casting on a mob inside the building while you are outside (with the old map it will let you, even though you can't see your target). If anyone has any zones where they are desperate for certain placeable objects to be included, (S3D or EQG) let me know and I'll see if I can cook you up a map with those objects included. |
Toxxulia Forest (tox) has that problem; npcs in the buildings there are waist-deep in the floor, would be great to see that fixed.
Thanks for you fixes! |
Quote:
http://www.rama.demon.co.uk/tox.rar It includes the geometry for three extra models (I threw the bridge in as a bonus :) ) HUT4_DMSPRITEDEF ERHOUSE_DMSPRITEDEF TBRIDGE_DMSPRITEDEF I tested one building before and after and it seemed to have done the trick. If anyone has any more requests, I likely won't get to them until tomorrow. |
Thanks again - I'll be testing shortly, before you go, I was wanting to give you something else to think about which may be related to your work; The boats.
Only one of them is not fall through , the rest are , the most needed ship is the SirensBane (butcher > freeporte boat), and it is totally transparent. We actually have a fully functional system for boats to run on schedule dynamic zone or not. but really can't use it to its best or properly, unless we can get a boat thats not so large as the one we have now. I'm about to make a detailed post on how we did this, but really, the SirensBane is very needed - it appears in many zones, and fits the areas perfectly. |
This is a reply to Scorp from another thread where the subject of azone was brought up. Thought I would put the reply here rather than cluttering up the other thread, or starting a new one.
Quote:
Regarding the PVP areas, I just logged into the old arena zone, and also went to the PVP arena in Freeport. If you issue the #bestz command in the pvp part of the arena zone, it tells you you are in water. Likewise, in the pvp arena in Freeport, it tells you that you are in an unknown area, so it seems that these pvp areas are defined as special, but just not being handled correctly. I'll look into it some more. Given that I can only pull out the special areas from S3Ds, and not EQGs. What other S3D zones have pvp areas (and where abouts in the zone are they) ? Thanks |
Halas has one, and this may help: OpenZone can create them.
I have a zone I made with one, and can give you the file. Because, OZ will successfully create the area (recognized by the client) you might want to either look at the OZ source or (probably quicker) ask Windcatcher about it. EDIT... My thought on this subject, btw, is that once we can identify the area and if a player and/or target is in it, we can add code to where it checks to see if attack is allowed against another player and allow/deny it depending on if they are in it. Probably with a rule so the serverOp can turn it on or off. This would actually be a pretty simple add-on once we can determine the PvP area and a client's position in or out of it. |
Quote:
working with S3Ds) and also Windcatcher's WLD format document, and the PVP areas should be defined in the S3D with a name beginning 'DRP_ZONE': Quote:
|
I got the PVP areas figured out correctly. There are PVP areas in the following zones:
Arena, Cabwest, citymist, freportw, Kael, mischiefplane, neriaka, neriakb, paineel, qeynos, sseru, thurgadina I could't find one in Halas. There is an area called 'The Pit Of Doom' which looks a bit like a mini-arena, but there is nothing in the S3D file to flag it as such, and I don't get the client message when I go in there. My ISP is doing maintenance which means my webspace is down at the moment, but when it comes back up I will post the water maps for the zones above with the PVP areas tagged correctly. I also wrote a patch for the server to detect the PVP areas (bool WaterMap::InPVPArea) and added some output into the #bestz command to show whether you were in a PVP area or not, however it still requires someone to modify the attack code to call InPVPArea to perform the check. (I'll let someone else do that). Here is the zone patch. I'll post the maps later when my webspace is back up. The modified version of awater to produce the .wtr maps tagged with PVP areas will come with my modified azone when that is done and tested. Code:
diff -u --recursive /tmp/EQEmu-0.7.0-1115/zone/command.cpp ./command.cpp |
Here are the 'Water' maps for the zones I mentioned in the previous post with the PVP regions tagged (1.4MB):
http://www.rama.demon.co.uk/pvpmaps.tar.gz The directory in the tar file is called pvpmaps but that is just a temp directory I put them in while creating the archive. Once you have extracted them, drop them in your Maps directory where the other .wtr files are. |
I had a look at what would be involved to use this to enable PVP combat in the PVP areas, and it looks to be simpler than I thought, i.e. just change the existing GetPVP() function:
Code:
--- /tmp/EQEmu-0.7.0-1115/zone/client.h 2008-06-15 00:07:57.000000000 +0100 |
Quote:
|
The previous patch to GetPVP didn't check if there was a watermap loaded for a zone and will crash the zone if there isn't. This should work better:
Code:
--- /tmp/EQEmu-0.7.0-1115/zone/client.h 2008-06-15 00:07:57.000000000 +0100 |
Here is azone2 (as I call it), along with a new version of awater that includes PVP
regions in the .wtr files. I've also included two other utilities called listobj and glmodelviewer that I'll get to in a moment. Source: www.rama.demon.co.uk/azone2/azone2.rar Windows Executables: www.rama.demon.co.uk/azone2/az2exes.rar The source includes .vcproj and an .sln file for Visual C++ Express 2008. The source needs to be unzipped into the utils directory of your EQEmu source tree, e.g. into EQEmu-0.7.0-1118/utils/azone2. I've not included diffs as I replaced the S3D and EQG loaders with later versions from OpenEQ that I had made some fixes to and included support for loading models, and the patch would be quite large. Copy the executables into the same directory as your .S3D and .EQG files. To include placeable objects for S3Ds, the _obj.s3d files must also be present. Some newer EQGs have a .ZON file as a separate file in the filesystem rather than inside the EQG. In these cases, the .ZON file must also be present along with the EQG. Azone2 provides support for including placeable objects in your .map files. Here I will give a short tutorial on why you might want to use it. Take this view of lakeofillomen. http://www.rama.demon.co.uk/azone2/loio-tex.jpg Those ruins are placeable objects, this is what the .map file thinks the scene looks like: http://www.rama.demon.co.uk/azone2/loio-noplac-map.jpg If we want to include those buildings in the .map, we need to know their model numbers. We could use listobj: listobj lakeofillomen Some models have meaningful names, but not so in the case of these buildings, so we will use glmodelviewer instead. From a command prompt (Windows only): glmodelviewer lakeofillomen Use the + and - keys to cycle through the models until you find one that looks like what you are after. http://www.rama.demon.co.uk/azone2/loio-mviewer.jpg It turns out that the buildings use models 49,50,51,52,53,54,55,56 and 57. In the same directory as azone2 and our s3d/eqgs, we also need to put a file called azone.ini. This tells azone2 what models to include in the .map Code:
# Include huts, houses dock and bridge from tox Code:
http://www.rama.demon.co.uk/azone2/loio-buildings.jpg You can test by trying to cast a spell on a mob in the ruins that you cannot see. |
This is ver cool. Thank you! It would be nice to get people involved in building an official "azone.ini", eh?
|
very nice work Derision. Anyone working on a new map pack with models included?
|
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:16 AM. |
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.