Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Support > Archive::Tutorials/Howto's

Archive::Tutorials/Howto's Archive area for Tutorials/Howto's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2004, 12:37 AM
Pyrix
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 68
Default Howto : Minilogin with 5.7 Dr-4 [06.03]

Ok a little guide how to set a Server with Minilogin with Eqemu-Version 5.7 DR-4:

Part 1 : Setting up MYSQL
Part 2 : Sourcing Databases
Part 3 : Setting up the Server
Part 4 : Working in Everquest-Folder
Part 5 : Starting the Server
Part 6 : Fixing Errors
Part 7 : EQEmu with EQ-Europe

This guide will be updated with every new version released.

In a few hours i gonna release a ready-to-use Version.You only need to do 3 things



Part 1 : Setting up MYSQL

1.Download MySQL from www.mysql.com

2.Install it and set Username and Password

3.run \mysql\bin\winmysqladmin.exe and look for the green light.
If it is green everything is all right.

Part 2 : Sourcing Databases

1.Download the SQL-Package (use rightclick->Save target as)

2.Open the *.rar file (You can get winrar from www.winrar.de) and
look for "itemtablechanges.sql"

3.Copy All Files to \mysql\bin

4.Start -> Run -> CMD

5.Type
Code:
cd <drive>:\mysql\bin
Instead of drive c or d , without "<>"

6.Type
Code:
 mysql -u root mysql
This gives you the highest Access-Level (also called Admin)

7.Type
Code:
 grant all privileges on *.* to user@localhost identified by 'password' with grant option;
This Command gives you the same rights as root

8.Type
Code:
create database eq;
You create the db "eq"

9.Type
Code:
use eq;
Now you can work with this db

10.Type
Code:
 source MW_057DR2_alpha_1.sql;
You load the .sql file in the db , sourcing can take a while

11.Type
Code:
 source loot_update.sql;
Same as above

12.Type
Code:
 source npc_types_update.sql;
This may take a while (15-45 mins)

13.Type
Code:
 source itemtablechanges.sql;
Same as above

14. If Everything is done
Code:
Exit
Part 3 : Setting up the Server

1.Now you can compile the Sources or simply take my precompiled one (use rightclick->Save target as)

2.Now put "EmuShareMem.dll" , "World.exe" and "Zone.exe" in a folder called "EQEmu"

3.Now download The missing files and put them in EQEmu-Folder

4.Download The Config files and put them in EQEmu-Folder

5.Change folder to "EQEmu" and look for "db.ini"

6.Edit it like this
Code:
[Database]
host=localhost
user=Pyrix
password=*Edited by Virus, Don't post your password for everyone to see :-)
database=eq
compression=off
I gonna explain this to You

Code:
[Database]
host=The Server where ur Database is saved on (On your PC= localhost , on another PC=IP)
user=Your MySQL-Username
password=Your MySQL-Password
database=The Name of DB (If you followed the Instructions "eq")
compression=off
7.Now look for LoginServer.ini . The following Part is very important
Code:
# READ README.TXT
[LoginServer]
loginserver=127.0.0.1
loginport=5999
worldname=German [Legit] Test-
worldaddress=127.0.0.1
locked=false
On Default there are 3 entries for loginserver and loginport.
You only need one.
The Defaultport is 5997 , but the Loginserverport of Minilogin is 5999.
Change it to 5999!
Do not But the phrase "Server" in worldname" !
The ip 127.0.0.1 specifies your PC , its like localhost.
You can use localhost instead of 127.0.0.1!

8.Open Boot5zones.bat (with the editor , simply rightclick and edit).
Code:
start zone . 127.0.0.1 7995 127.0.0.1
start zone . 127.0.0.1 7996 127.0.0.1
start zone . 127.0.0.1 7997 127.0.0.1
start zone . 127.0.0.1 7998 127.0.0.1
start zone . 127.0.0.1 7999 127.0.0.1
You can replace 127.0.0.1 with localhost!

Part 4 : Working in Everquest-Folder

1.Go to Everquest-Folder and open eqhost.txt.
Replace EVERYTHING with the following entry.

If you got EQ-Europe
Code:
[Login Servers] 
{ 
"localhost:5999" 
}
If you got normal EQ
Code:
[Login Servers]
Host=localhost:5999
2. Now rightclick on "eqgame.exe" and "create shortcut"
Rightclick on the shortcut and add in "target" after the ' " ' patchme.
It looks like :
Code:
"D:\EverQuest\eqgame.exe" patchme
Part 5 : Starting the Server

1.Go to EQEmu-Folder and start minilogin first , than world.exe and last but not least boot5zones.exe.

2.Sometimes you have to wait a bit for the zones loading into world.

3.If you got an output in World.exe Window like "#1 New Zoneserver..." run the special shortcut of everquest.

4.Login as "eqemu" with password "eqemu" .

5.If the Server is locked wait a few mins and connect to the server.

6.If you are rejected from the server , saying you should re-run update ..... and you got newest (26.05.) version of eq the username wasnt added to your db.
Got to next Part to Fix it.


Part 6 : Fixing Errors

1.Ingame Message :" Rerun your patcher...." and in World.exe-Window "Wrong password" or "Unknown Username".

Start -> Run -> Cmd
Use command from Part 1 No.6 , Part 1 No.7 and Part 1 No.10 .
Type
Code:
INSERT INTO account (id, name, charname, packencrypt, sharedplat, password, 
status, lsaccount_id, gmspeed, revoked) VALUES (1, 'eqemu', '', '', 0, 'eqemu', 250, NULL, 0, 0);

2.Minilogin doesnt loads into World.

Simply fix it by editing LoginServer.ini .
Change the Loginserverport from "5997" to "5999" .


3.The Server is locked , I can enter it and create a char.But i cant enter the world.

The Zones havent load into world.exe. Look in World.exe for Errors.
If you havent run the "itemtablechanges.sql" this may be the fault.
The most errors in world.exe are caused by wrong Database-entries or wrong *.ini settings.
Only recreate a db and reload the sql-files into it.

4.You cant attack.

I didnt figure out what it is.
But its defenetly an fault in the source (perhaps attack.cpp or opcodes.h).
The interesting thing is that your enemy loses hp.
Reason : You have no animation for attacking or the target (dunno how) attacks itself.

5.No NPC ingame.
You need to load a .sql into your db.
look part 2.



Part 7 : EQEmu with EQ-Europe

If you wanna play with EQ-Europe on Eqemu-Servers you have to do following.

1.

Patch ur Version to "English" (under Advanced , Erweitert) .

2.

Now there are some diffrents between the format of "eqhost.txt" (stored in your EQ-Folder)


USA-Version:
Code:
[Login Servers]
Host=eqemulator.net:5995
But This format isnt working with Eq-Europe

Try this

EQ-Europe:
Code:
[Login Servers]
{
"eqemulator.net:5995"
}


Last changed on 06.03.04
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-2004, 01:31 AM
wize_one
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: LasShithole, NV
Posts: 520
Default

not bad.. though the corect address for MW databases is: http://www.projecteq.net/modules.php?name=Downloads . may also want to use an updated spells file(3-16-04 is kinda old)
__________________
Perfect quote from another site: it's immature pricks who refuse to read the numerous stickies in every forum pointing out what to do and what not to do that get flamed. Grow up and learn to do your fucking homework before opening your cake hole, junior. EQEmu doesn't like you anymore, and that's why you're getting errors. So go away.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-01-2004, 02:45 AM
Pyrix
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 68
Default

hehe thanks for the link gonna fix it
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-02-2004, 06:26 PM
farmerted
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Default Thank you and a question

First I want to thank you for your very easy to use walkthrough. I was able to create my database the first time without any problems.

I did have one problem with a download you mentioned in your post.

Quote:
1.Now you can compile the Sources or simply take my precompiled one
I was unable to download your compiled database using the link you have. Is the site down? reached its max? broken?

I tried to compile hte DR4 source files myself following this tutorial

http://www.eqemulator.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=14719

But had no luck getting the VS.NET to work properly.

Thanks in advance,

Farmer Ted
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-03-2004, 05:09 AM
x-scythe
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 449
Default

good guide...i think it should be stickied. i think you should change some of the colors tho...namely the dark reds and blues. kills my eyes.
but a very good guide
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-03-2004, 05:53 AM
gandar
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Sacramento, CA
Posts: 84
Default

/nod

I agree on both points. It is a well written, concise guide and it should be stickied.

But the colors should be changed or should just go... That red is hard on my eyes, but the d.blue makes my eyes want to cross.

Just wanted to second x-scythe so that you know more than 1 person is having trouble with the colors.

Keep up the awesome work!

~Gandar
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-03-2004, 06:03 AM
Pyrix
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 68
Default

thx gandar i gonna change color and add a few errors !
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-06-2004, 03:08 PM
sianyde
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 92
Default

I'm using v0.5.7 on XP SP-1. I cannot login to the minilogin server. I've tried adding the eqemu account by manually typing it at the mysql prompt, by using the world adduser command, and with EQAdmin. The problem, though, appears to be that the client can't even connect to the minilogin server.

Here are my files:

loginserver.ini:

[LoginServer]
loginserver=localhost
loginport=5999
worldname=legit alpha -sianyde-
worldaddress=localhost
locked=false

[WorldServer]
Defaultstatus=0
Unavailzone=

[LoginConfig]
ServerMode=Standalone
ServerPort=5999
UplinkAddress=
UplinkPort=
UplinkAccount=
UplinkPassword=

[ChatChannelServer]
ChatChannelServer=localhost
-------------

miniloginaccounts.ini:

localhost eqemu eqemu
--------------
yes, the space is the end

boot5zones.bat:

if NOT exist spells_us.txt goto NOSPELL

start zone . localhost 7995 localhost
start zone . localhost 7996 localhost
start zone . localhost 7997 localhost
start zone . localhost 7998 localhost
start zone . localhost 7999 localhost
exit
cls

:NOSPELL
echo You did not copy the spells_us.txt from your everquest directory to this one. Please do so or zones will crash on startup.
PAUSE

REM:---------------END------------------------

eqhost.txt:

[LoginServer]
Host=localhost:5999
---------------------------

world.exe and zone.exe give normal outputs, with no errors.

I am using an SMC router, but all the apps and the client are running on the same machine.

The eqemu account is account #2 in the eq db, if that means anything.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-06-2004, 03:38 PM
Virus11
Discordant
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 311
Default

You posted your password on db.ini, I edited it for you, so don't worry. Not smart to use your real db.ini with everything showing :-p
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-06-2004, 03:57 PM
sianyde
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 92
Default

Thanks... don't remember even posting db.ini, cuz I didn't think it was relevant... but it's late =)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-06-2004, 11:19 PM
Pyrix
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 68
Default

plz post ur world.exe output !
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-07-2004, 08:39 AM
FrozenShadows
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: US
Posts: 3
Default I dunno maybe someone can tell me why this is.

Hello all, Thank your for posting guides like this they help out alot. Only thing is, I know that this is a DR release and things can go wrong. I just found an error that I have never seen before running eqemu earlier versions such as 5.6, 5.7 DR2, Dr3 versions etc. Here is the error below.

[Error] Client error:
[Error] Error message:
[Error] Client error:
[Error] Error message:
[Error] Client error:
[Error] Error message:
[Error] Client error:
[Error] Error message:
[Error] Client error:
[Error] Error message:
[Error] Client error:
[Error] Error message:
[Error] Client error:
[Error] Error message:
[Error] Client error:
[Error] Error message:
CLient linkdead: Sasuke
Dropping client: Process=false, ip=*.*.*.*
[Status] Zone Shutdown: neriaka (40)

This happens for everyone not just certain people. And it is endless too it just keeps on and on until they LD and get dropped. This is not seen in world.exe but in the zones that people are in.

Any ideas on what causes this? Server? Database?, Client side?

Laters,

Server Admin for Frozen Shadows Server
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-07-2004, 01:12 PM
red123
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Default

Every time I try to source npc_types_update, all I see is a ton of error messages. I've tried Pyrix's file and an updated one and it's the same for both. All the other files source fine. Is it supposed to be like that?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-07-2004, 03:43 PM
Merq
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 48
Default

Everything is up and running and error-free, but when I type in eqemu:eqemu for login:password, it just closes EQ. Any reason why?
__________________
- Merq -
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-07-2004, 03:49 PM
red123
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Default

Possibly a bad IP Address and/or port number Merq.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:34 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3