Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Linux Servers

Support::Linux Servers Support forum for Linux EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2009, 12:33 PM
KingMort
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 841
Default Strange Issues with our new 64 Bit Server

Well ok some of you are already aware of the 3rd augment being deleted off everyone's gear on Raid Addicts which sadly lead to a 2 day Inventory rollback...

We are now having a weird issue where anything Tradeable/Stackable is being made no drop when zoning... But for me in my case it's only stacks of 20.. If I summon a stack of 19 and zone then it's still tradeable

Anyway has anyone upgrading to 64 bit had this type of issue.. If so how did you fix it...

There is other strange things as well Helmet graphics not working suddenly and some of our Rules aren't being loaded either..

Also zoning into certain zones you end up under the world.. and mob's agro radius seems larger ect

King
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-2009, 12:44 PM
gaeorn
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 478
Default

I have a test server running 64bit and I have seen stackable items become nodrop. However, I never got around to investigating it. It probably is another type casting issue (or, rather, lack of type casting).

I'll see if I can take a look at it later.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-01-2009, 02:44 PM
KingMort
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Thanks a ton... Really messes up our economy lol
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-01-2009, 06:21 PM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

If 64bit Linux is giving you a lot of issues, is there any reason why you couldn't simply go down to a 32bit kernel? I don't think you would see much performance difference between the 2 kernels. The only reason to even go 64bit as far as I am concerned is if your server has more than 4GBs of RAM. Even then, you could just use the big-mem kernels to still utilize the RAM, just a bit less efficiently (that is what I do).

Not that it would be a bad thing to have the code corrected to work with 64bit properly, but if it is causing you a headache, maybe it would be an easier route for you. Changing a kernel out on Debian is very easy using apt-get install.
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-01-2009, 08:53 PM
KingMort
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Yeah would like to stay 64 we have 6 gigs atm and raising that to 12 gigs soon...

But yeah if all else fails we may have too..

Thanks for the info Trev
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-01-2009, 09:24 PM
gaeorn
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 478
Default

Ok, I can consistently duplicate this bug. If I put 20 stackable items items in the first slot of the bag in the first bag slot, it becomes no drop after zoning. If I split that stack into 19 in the first slot of the bag and 1 in the last main inventory slot, upon zoning the 19 stay no drop but the 1 changes back to droppable.

I also tried combining the stacks to see what kind of results I got. If I drop a partial stack of no drop onto the droppable version, they all become droppable. If I drop a partial stack of the droppable onto the no drop version, they all become no drop.

I also found that if I start with the 19 and 1 in the locations I stated in the first paragraph with them all droppable, they all stay droppable.

From what I am seeing, it appears this is a problem with the data being sent to the client about the item. This could be caused by corrupting the data when it is read from the DB or later when it is being sent to the client. I'll see what I can find.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-02-2009, 01:39 AM
gaeorn
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 478
Default

The following code changes to trunk appear to fix both the disappearing augments and the nodrop appearing on some items after zoning for 64bit machines. I have not tested this extensively but I no longer am able to reproduce the nodrop problems I saw before this change. I also highly doubt this could break anything since it simply type casts the values to the same as the vsnprintf format in MakeAnyLenString is expecting.

Code:
Index: common/shareddb.cpp
===================================================================
--- common/shareddb.cpp (revision 6)
+++ common/shareddb.cpp (working copy)
@@ -254,8 +254,8 @@
                                "       augslot1,augslot2,augslot3,augslot4,augslot5)"
                                " VALUES(%lu,%lu,%lu,%lu,"
                                "       %lu,%lu,%lu,%lu,%lu)",
-                               account_id, slot_id, inst->GetItem()->ID, charges ,
-                               augslot[0],augslot[1],augslot[2],augslot[3],augslot[4]);
+                               (unsigned long)account_id, (unsigned long)slot_id, (unsigned long)inst->GetItem()->ID, (unsigned long)charges ,
+                               (unsigned long)augslot[0],(unsigned long)augslot[1],(unsigned long)augslot[2],(unsigned long)augslot[3],(unsigned long)augslot[4]);


                        ret = RunQuery(query, len_query, errbuf);
@@ -290,8 +290,8 @@
                                "       augslot1,augslot2,augslot3,augslot4,augslot5)"
                                " VALUES(%lu,%lu,%lu,%lu,%lu,%lu,"
                                "       %lu,%lu,%lu,%lu,%lu)",
-                               char_id, slot_id, inst->GetItem()->ID, charges, inst->IsInstNoDrop() ? 1:0,inst->GetColor(),
-                               augslot[0],augslot[1],augslot[2],augslot[3],augslot[4] );
+                               (unsigned long)char_id, (unsigned long)slot_id, (unsigned long)inst->GetItem()->ID, (unsigned long)charges, (unsigned long)(inst->IsInstNoDrop() ? 1:0),(unsigned long)inst->GetColor(),
+                               (unsigned long)augslot[0],(unsigned long)augslot[1],(unsigned long)augslot[2],(unsigned long)augslot[3],(unsigned long)augslot[4] );

                        ret = RunQuery(query, len_query, errbuf);
                }
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:37 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3