Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Tools

Development::Tools 3rd Party Tools for EQEMu (DB management tools, front ends, etc...)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-21-2009, 05:46 PM
Speedz's Avatar
Speedz
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ocean Park, WA
Posts: 186
Default EQhost changer and game launcher.

I got sick of manually editing my host files for connecting to various servers so I created my own lil launcher that changes them for me.
Granted a slick batch file could work too, but I prefer more functionality and control. Not to mention a slick preview I added so I can see the host file before it is written and used.

So here is the screenshot (also posted in another thread)



And here is the program WITH source. The executable is in the bin/release folder if that is all you want.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=JKHFSPDI

I hope more interest is shown in this tool than my last one (I think my last one pushed my noob coding skills to the max and it was rather depressing to see zero downloads :-/) I appreciate any bug reports (in detail) and suggestions. Also if you mod the program please share if you think anyone else would like it too. (source as well)
__________________
Just another face in the crowd..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-21-2009, 07:00 PM
Rogean's Avatar
Rogean
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 708
Default

Or servers could just connect to the real loginserver and we wouldn't have this problem.
__________________
EQEmulator Developer / Administrator
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-21-2009, 08:16 PM
Sylaei
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 124
Default

Cool Speedz, This will work great for my dad. It will easily let him play on my server and on the regular loginserver.

Thanks
__________________
Syl

"The significant problems we have cannot be solved at the same level of thinking with which we created them."
Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-21-2009, 09:02 PM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

For my Titanium install, I sometimes switch from Public to my personal test server when I need to test stuff in Titanium (I use SoF 99% of the time). What I did to make this really easy was just to create a shortcut on my desktop to my eqhost.txt in the Titanium folder. Then, in that file, I have it setup like this:

Code:
[LoginServer]
Host=eqemulator.net:5998
#Host=192.168.1.102:5999
#Host=192.168.1.101:5999
That one works for connecting to the Public LS and the # signs just comment out those lines so they get ignored and it works perfectly. So, to change it, I just move the # signs around like this:

Code:
[LoginServer]
#Host=eqemulator.net:5998
Host=192.168.1.102:5999
#Host=192.168.1.101:5999
And that will let me switch to my test server. You can have as many entries as you want in your eqhost.txt this way and all you need to do is open it, do the very simple edit and save it then run EQ.
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-21-2009, 09:16 PM
Speedz's Avatar
Speedz
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ocean Park, WA
Posts: 186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogean View Post
Or servers could just connect to the real loginserver and we wouldn't have this problem.
I just like the option to easily switch to servers that are not based on the emu's login server. As you see I do shamelessly promote the use of the emu login servers by having that entry as default :-P

Aside from that I have a really crappy WISP for internet. I don't have the luxury of a strong fast stable connection. I am sure there are others in the same boat. So offline tools are extremely handy. IF I had a good internet connection I may not worry so much, since the emu has been up for many years and shown the login server is a reliable resource. But my net is not.

@trevius I just like to be lazy and like the interaction with GUI stuff that allows me to be lazy (tho not so lazy spending a couple days coding this up...but w/e lol)

Also if someone plays on Live still AND the emu it can simplify the process of not screwing up the emu versioned EQ folder by accidently messing things up. No matter how fail safe it is, someone can and will screw it up ( I should know I have too )

Lastly, I am trying to self teach C# so the more projects I do that I would actually use, the better I get. There is no better place to make tools than here

@ Sylaei I'm glad you like it. Thank you for showing interest in it. If you have ideas to improve or add to it, let me know or code them up and share with us.
__________________
Just another face in the crowd..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-24-2009, 02:23 AM
Speedz's Avatar
Speedz
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ocean Park, WA
Posts: 186
Default

fyi to those interested, I am in the process of adding an auto cpu affinity option.

This is taking me a little time to research how I want to do this especially since I don't know the code needed. I have found a utility called psexec from sysinternals but I prefer to do it within a single application (ie. within my code) I hate relying on outside apps to do what I want.

Basically if I can find a way to do it internally I will have it check for multiple cores and display check boxes that correspond to each core and allow the user to tic the core they want the game to run on.

I am considering having it select core 0 by default. To make it simple for quick starting.

Thoughts or links to sites that would help? Any would be appreciated.
__________________
Just another face in the crowd..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-24-2009, 08:02 AM
leslamarch
Discordant
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 436
Default

Maybe something like this?


Code:
{
    Process game = new Process();
    game.StartInfo.FileName = "eqgame.exe";
    game.StartInfo.Arguments = "patchme";
    game.Start();
    game.ProcessorAffinity = (IntPtr)1;
}
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-24-2009, 08:51 AM
Speedz's Avatar
Speedz
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ocean Park, WA
Posts: 186
Default

@leslamarch Again you saved the day. I found anything but this method in my searches. I am going to have to buy you a beer sometime lol.
__________________
Just another face in the crowd..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-24-2009, 09:28 AM
Shin Noir's Avatar
Shin Noir
Legendary Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 506
Default

You do realize that if you register with EQEMU and try to connect to a LAN based IP machine it will utilize a local route right?
e.g. if I host on 192.168.1.100 and connect to eqemu login servers with it, then connect to it via 192.168.1.101 it'll route locally once I choose the server on EQEMU's server select.

That's what this line is for:
<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. -->
<address>youremu.com</address>
<localaddress>192.168.1.100</localaddress>
<!-- Loginserver information. -->

At least that's my understanding. *shrugs*.
__________________

~Shin Noir
DungeonEQ.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-24-2009, 10:47 AM
Speedz's Avatar
Speedz
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ocean Park, WA
Posts: 186
Default

@Shin Noir

As stated previously, I have a real unstable internet connection and like to have the complete offline options. I am sure there are others that would like to not be tethered to an online server as well.

I also like to experiment with multiple servers and this tool simplifies that process. My favorite thing I like to say in computer terms "If it doesn't exist or what does exist doesn't do what I want it to do.....I'll make it myself"

Aside from the fact that I am self teaching C# as also mentioned elsewhere
__________________
Just another face in the crowd..
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-24-2009, 11:33 AM
Speedz's Avatar
Speedz
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ocean Park, WA
Posts: 186
Default

Updated Launcher in my Sig. It now has a set affinity option and auto sets affinity to first cpu by default. Also it will not allow you to set a value higher than the number of cpu cores you have.
__________________
Just another face in the crowd..
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-24-2009, 12:37 PM
leslamarch
Discordant
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 436
Default

Speedz,
I think your doing some fine work with your c#, I looked through the source of your launcher and it looks good. Thanks for your efforts
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-24-2009, 12:57 PM
Speedz's Avatar
Speedz
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ocean Park, WA
Posts: 186
Default

Thank you leslamarch, if you find any thing I can improve on please let me know. Also your AX launcher inspired me to create both tools among other not so positive reasons......*silently cursing my ISP and lack of options
__________________
Just another face in the crowd..
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-28-2009, 12:00 AM
Sylaei
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 124
Default

Speedz,
Just a quick thought on the EQLauncher. I have been using it to bounce between two servers that I have running and I am using it in a T, and SOF client. I would like to see it display the current host.txt file under 'Current Saved Host File' without having to click Load. I can't seem to remember which server I was on last, . Anyways, just a thought and should be a simple fix, if you choose to implement.
__________________
Syl

"The significant problems we have cannot be solved at the same level of thinking with which we created them."
Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-12-2010, 08:57 PM
Speedz's Avatar
Speedz
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ocean Park, WA
Posts: 186
Default

Good idea. Sorry for the absence from the scene. I had a major computer death and internet issues all at once. So I took a break to recover sanity. I'll refresh/post new releases when I get to tackling it. I came up with a few ideas and will add this one as well.
__________________
Just another face in the crowd..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:01 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3