Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Spell Support

Spell Support Broken Spells? Want them Fixed? Request it here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-14-2013, 08:07 PM
Township EQ
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 118
Default Ports

So I've been trying to make custom teleport spells for awhile now and I'm a bit confused about something.



This is Circle of Commons.

Casting it teleports me to 1427.0, 478.0, -51.9, heading=162.5

I've tried making custom ones many times before (not this one exactly) but I always run into the problem that my locations get wonky. So what does each value even do?

What is 325 at the bottom? is 478 the Y loc? I've looked at another one and the value for teleport is 1 and then the Y loc where it teleports you is a whole different number. There seems to be some kind of voodoo ritual to making teleport spells that I don't understand, someone please help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-14-2013, 08:17 PM
NatedogEZ's Avatar
NatedogEZ
Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 515
Default

Code:
                                x = spell.base[1];
				y = spell.base[0];
				z = spell.base[2];
				heading = spell.base[3];
Copied right from the source in spell_effects.cpp

so...

Y
X
Z
H -- seems to be half of what the H value is ... so if its 500 guessing the heading it ports you at would be 250? .. not 100% sure


In perl scripts I always DOUBLE the heading to get them to face the way I want them to... so if I want them to face 125 .. i put 250 ..ect ect.. not sure why it works that way.. but it seems to work
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2013, 09:47 PM
Township EQ
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NatedogEZ View Post
Code:
                                x = spell.base[1];
				y = spell.base[0];
				z = spell.base[2];
				heading = spell.base[3];
Copied right from the source in spell_effects.cpp

so...

Y
X
Z
H -- seems to be half of what the H value is ... so if its 500 guessing the heading it ports you at would be 250? .. not 100% sure


In perl scripts I always DOUBLE the heading to get them to face the way I want them to... so if I want them to face 125 .. i put 250 ..ect ect.. not sure why it works that way.. but it seems to work
That makes a bit more sense. The whole doubling the heading might fix another unrelated issue I'm having. It seems like some zonelines I can't edit, and for a fix to that I've made invisible npcs that zone you when you enter their proximity.

Code:
    quest::movepc(4,-2425,1270,-1.2,142.1);
For some reason no matter what I change the "142.1" to it doesn't have any effect. I've also tried putting the heading in brackets like it says on the wiki, but nothing. Is there something I'm doing wrong with this?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2013, 10:12 PM
Kingly_Krab
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 1,594
Default

Brackets mean the field is optional and not necessary, I don't see anything that you're doing wrong, it's weird.
Code:
quest::movepc(zone id,x,y,z,[heading]) - Moves the user that triggered the Event to the provided zone and location.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2013, 12:12 AM
Township EQ
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NatedogEZ View Post
Code:
                                x = spell.base[1];
				y = spell.base[0];
				z = spell.base[2];
				heading = spell.base[3];
Copied right from the source in spell_effects.cpp

so...

Y
X
Z
H -- seems to be half of what the H value is ... so if its 500 guessing the heading it ports you at would be 250? .. not 100% sure


In perl scripts I always DOUBLE the heading to get them to face the way I want them to... so if I want them to face 125 .. i put 250 ..ect ect.. not sure why it works that way.. but it seems to work
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingly_Krab View Post
Brackets mean the field is optional and not necessary, I don't see anything that you're doing wrong, it's weird.
Code:
quest::movepc(zone id,x,y,z,[heading]) - Moves the user that triggered the Event to the provided zone and location.
I see.

Alright then, thanks guys!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:44 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3