Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Development

Development::Development Forum for development topics and for those interested in EQEMu development. (Not a support forum)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2014, 04:45 PM
noudess
Discordant
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 274
Default some code still referencing character_ table?

So to test my understanding:

- when I got the latest code dump and ran it on my database, it detected that my db used blobs for character data, then ran a conversion to the new tables and renamed character_ to character_old.

- Now, lookng at the code elsewhere, I see references to character_ for looking up characters by name to get the account.

My server thus crashed every time I zoned.

I changed the code to use character_data and all is well.

In trying to figure out why others are not seeing this... I can only assume that all of them had to run the conversion more than once, and as such they repopulated character_. The second time they run conversion, I see that the rename would fail, leaving the table.

Do you guys agree that the code should no longer reference character_?

noudess
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2014, 04:47 PM
demonstar55
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,164
Default

Update. All of them should of been fixed as of last night. If they're not, tell us where.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2014, 04:49 PM
noudess
Discordant
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 274
Default

Ah good. I just pulled last night, so maybe I was a tad early. I'll give it a shot.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2014, 05:07 PM
noudess
Discordant
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 274
Default

I am brand new to git, so I may have done something wrong, but it looks to be wrong still:

I did an uptream fetch and got 5 commits from the main line, but I still need to make this change.

I can commit this so I learn about git if you want.

Quote:
-- a/common/database.cpp
+++ b/common/database.cpp
@@ -771,7 +771,7 @@ uint32 Database::GetCharacterID(const char *name) {
Zero will also be returned if there is a database error.
*/
uint32 Database::GetAccountIDByChar(const char* charname, uint32* oCharID) {
- std::string query = StringFormat("SELECT account_id, id FROM character_ WHERE name='%s'", EscapeString(charname).c_str());
+ std::string query = StringFormat("SELECT account_id, id FROM character_data WHERE name='%s'", EscapeString(charname).c_str());
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-22-2014, 05:18 PM
demonstar55
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,164
Default

git pull does a git fetch and a git merge. fetch just downloads the changes, doesn't apply them.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-22-2014, 05:46 PM
noudess
Discordant
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 274
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by demonstar55 View Post
git pull does a git fetch and a git merge. fetch just downloads the changes, doesn't apply them.
Ok thanks. I got it.

On a second note, there is a duplicate file (well, one with a naming issue that is a copy of another.

--- a/utils/sql/git/required/2014_06_25_AA_Updates..sql
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:35 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3