Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Support > Archive::Linux Servers

Archive::Linux Servers Archive area for Linux Servers's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2003, 03:51 AM
Raumuth
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 11
Default Anyone using gdb?

After setting up a 0.5.0 Under Win32 I setup a 0.5.0 under linux ("Jax Test World"). I installed the database from http://mwnpcmovdb.myftp.org/MWnpcdb_050_default0_2.ace. I then start the world and zone. People log in and eventually get disconnected.

I then use gdb to debug the problem:
I have 4 terminal screens open.
Screen one:
$ gdb ./world
(gdb) run

Screen two:
$gdb ./zone . 64.125.20.1 7995 64.125.20.1
(gdb) run

I get an expection when the user is creating a new charater so I attempt to set a breakpoint here and next thru the code. I get the "Can not set break point" message. This exception does not stop the execution of the code and it looks like few procedures are called. Setting a breakpoint would help me step thru the specific procudure. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2003, 02:26 AM
Raumuth
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 11
Default

ok, gdb = gnu debugger. No one is using this tool?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-04-2003, 02:31 AM
Trumpcard
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,614
Default

I've only used it to track down the reason behind cores, never used it as a step through/into debugger..

Sorry!

Does anyone have access to PC-Lint or Numega SoftIce/Bounds Checker? I'd love to see the results of running the code through it
__________________
Quitters never win, and winners never quit, but those who never win and never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-05-2003, 04:44 AM
Doodman's Avatar
Doodman
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 246
Default

Try compiling everything with -ggdb if you don't already. That might be why you are unable to set a breakpoint.

-ggdb turns on all symbol information in the executable so that gdb can see them.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-05-2003, 03:36 PM
krich
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Great Northwest
Posts: 150
Default

Also, there is a crash bug during character creation that is related to invalid starting items in the database.

Check your database, table starting_items for a row where itemid==0. This will crash it.

To see if you have this problem, run this on the MySQL command line:
Code:
select * from starting_items where itemid=0;
If it returns anything other than Empty set, run this command to fix it:
Code:
delete from starting_items where itemid=0;
Good luck.

Regards,

krich[/code]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:44 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3