Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Development > Archive::Development

Archive::Development Archive area for Development's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-29-2004, 06:55 PM
fathernitwit
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 773
Default Recent PlayerProfile changes

Hello,

Im new to eqemu, so please excuse any newbieness..

anyways, I just found out about eqemu like 3 days ago, so I have the newest client patches. And of course, I find out that all kinds of stuff is broken. So I have been hacking on it a little...

I have gotten a login server emulator up so that I can coerce the EQ client to connect to my local eqemu server... I can then create a new character without problems... And so I ran into the inability to connect to a zone, like many seem to be experiencing... So i did some research and looking at code, to little avail..

i ended up getting bored, and wondering what ever happened to showEQ... I used to use it when I played like 2 years+ ago, so I went to check out their project, and found a relavent post:
http://www.showeq.net/forums/showthr...ge=1&pp=15

so anyways, the moral of my story is that I got it working. The only change was:
Code:
/*0344*/	AA_Array			aa_array[122];		// Length may not be right but i assume no class has more than this

uint8   unknown0524[720];	//7-14-04 patch... maybe pet data...

/*not 0588 anymore*/	char				servername[64];		// length probably not right
I can now connect to my local zone servers, get logged in, and do stuff. I have never played another eqemu server, so I dont know what is broken or just different.. I can walk around, zone, talk to shop keepers, kill shit, gain a level, cast spells... stuff seems to be pretty functional.

One major problem I had was when I made an elf that started in kelthin (sp?), I was in a black room with a couple faintly lit walls, and I couldent move... so I just made another character

I just thought I would share this with you guys, maybe it will help something somewhere... I am now happy as I can log in to my local server. Hopefully it is actually playable for a while, until a more complete update to eqemu comes out.

I dont know if any of you guys keep an active eye on the showeq project, and since they are in a very similar market, why not take advantage of their knowledge. (and im sure code is sharing anyways, their packet header is very similar to eqemu's)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-29-2004, 07:01 PM
Xabob's Avatar
Xabob
Discordant
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: On your desktop
Posts: 387
Default

Hmmm interesting......someone should look into this
__________________
[12:38] <RangerDown> I watched Napoleon Dynamite the other day
[12:39] <Xabob> omg
[12:39] <Xabob> want me to shoot you now?
[12:39] <RangerDown> and the first words out of my mouth at the start were:
[12:39] <RangerDown> Hey I bet Rog looks like that

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2004, 07:36 PM
kathgar
Discordant
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 434
Default

Considering two of the main devs have cvs access and are normally in touch with us.. yeah, we do work together.. I wouldn't mind looking at your stuff however.

I also just might to point out that I am a developer for eqemu, my aases are just being stupid.
__________________
++[>++++++&lt;-]>[&lt;++++++>-]&lt;.>++++[>+++++&lt;-]>[&lt;
+++++>-]&lt;+.+++++++..+++.>>+++++[&lt;++++++>-]&lt;+
+.&lt;&lt;+++++++++++++++.>.+++.------.--------.>+.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-30-2004, 01:23 AM
fathernitwit
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 773
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kathgar
I wouldn't mind looking at your stuff however.
What are you interested in seeing? So far, the only eqemu things I have changed are:
1. FreeBSD related compile errors
2. Change auth to use IP instead of what the client gives for login
3. Added that 720 byte buffer above to that structure.

As far as the login server stuff goes, im not convinced that I should be publicly disclosing it, now that I look at it, it should be pretty well covered under the DMCA. But right now it is just echoing back the same packets that eqlive's server does, and I use DNS tricks to make it connect to my server instead of the eqlive one I select.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-30-2004, 01:39 AM
RangerDown
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,066
Default

Quote:
and I use DNS tricks to make it connect to my server instead of the eqlive one I select.
Just edit your eqhost.txt file and put your server's name and port number in place of the one that's there. That's the official EQEmu supported way of us switching from Sony's servers to Emu servers.

When you edit it though, I suggest using either WordPad or the MS-DOS "Edit" command. It seems Notepad saves CR/LF's in a funny way and the EQ client might reject the file.

Symptoms that the EQ client rejected your changed eqhost.txt file: It'll say something about an invalid eqhost.txt file when you try to log on, and then when you look at the eqhost.txt file again, it's been changed to include an "xp-smitchell" machine. (Most likely an internal SOE dev's machine from back when the login was being tested.)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-30-2004, 01:49 AM
fathernitwit
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 773
Default

I know, the main reason I rewrite is when I select the world... because I cant yet craft world list packets, so I use sony's list, and then change their world's DNS name to point to my local world server, no other quick way to get around that one.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-31-2004, 10:03 PM
kathgar
Discordant
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 434
Default

I was referring more along the lines of seeing how/how well you code.
__________________
++[>++++++&lt;-]>[&lt;++++++>-]&lt;.>++++[>+++++&lt;-]>[&lt;
+++++>-]&lt;+.+++++++..+++.>>+++++[&lt;++++++>-]&lt;+
+.&lt;&lt;+++++++++++++++.>.+++.------.--------.>+.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-06-2004, 04:17 PM
Doodman's Avatar
Doodman
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 246
Default

Nice work!

I've got a mostly implemented login server that will auth with the live client.

It is not "emulating" the loginserver like you talk about. Mine is a complete reverse-engineer of the protocol and the packets.

The way I am currently doing it is to use the encrypted portion of the user/pass packets as an "auth block". It stores it and the related LS account so that it can determine who logged in.

This coupled with the investigation you have done in to the change to EQEMu world/zone to be live compatible might move us to live compatibility. At least until launchpad comes.

Currently, I mostly afk as I just had a baby.. Time will free up sooner or later and I'll complete my loginserver.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-07-2004, 02:35 AM
wize_one
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: LasShithole, NV
Posts: 520
Default

/hyjack on

congrats doodman, bet your pretty sore just havin a kid and all.. j/k.. grats daddy!
__________________
Perfect quote from another site: it's immature pricks who refuse to read the numerous stickies in every forum pointing out what to do and what not to do that get flamed. Grow up and learn to do your fucking homework before opening your cake hole, junior. EQEmu doesn't like you anymore, and that's why you're getting errors. So go away.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:06 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3