|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Development::Feature Requests Post suggestions/feature requests here. |
07-10-2009, 11:57 AM
|
|
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Umm
Posts: 1,492
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by trevius
How many levels are you needing to allow exactly, Secrets?
|
I will take all 254 please
better do it just once and never have to worry about it again
|
07-10-2009, 03:50 PM
|
|
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: May 2007
Location: b
Posts: 1,447
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by trevius
Nice work, Shendare! So, it sounds like we could just change the sint to a int32 and get quite a few more levels out of the int32. Using that formula, it should be able to go to level 112:
int32 max is 4294967295
112 (111*111*111)*3.1*1000 = 4239656100
113 (112*112*112)*3.1*1000 = 4355276800
How many levels are you needing to allow exactly, Secrets? If it is less than 113, then it sounds like the solution might not be too bad. If it is more than that, I am sure it could be worked out, but would probably take more work/code to do it.
|
I ended up writing my own formula to allow it, heh. But it is more than 112, but even then, this is a very nice advancement.
The solution was changing the 1000 multiplier to a lower number. It allows for a smooth progression.
Last edited by Secrets; 07-10-2009 at 11:55 PM..
|
07-10-2009, 04:24 PM
|
|
Developer
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
|
|
I wonder if that multiplier should be made into a rule that defaults to 1000. Might not be a bad solution for the servers out there wanting to go higher. I know there aren't many, but a rule might not be a bad option. I am not sure on the details of how exp is sent to the client though, so not sure how changing that might effect leveling rates and such.
Last edited by trevius; 07-11-2009 at 12:26 AM..
|
07-10-2009, 04:52 PM
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 402
|
|
This is why I cried custom feature. :(
|
07-11-2009, 03:37 PM
|
Banned
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 841
|
|
Quote:
Well the subject is definitely out of scope for the actual trunk
|
What are you talking about ??? This is Eqemu the max level on LIVE right now is 85... And will soon most likely be 90.. So this issue really should be looked into and fixed..
|
07-11-2009, 04:26 PM
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 305
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingMort
What are you talking about ??? This is Eqemu the max level on LIVE right now is 85... And will soon most likely be 90.. So this issue really should be looked into and fixed..
|
Max level for Underfoot (next expansion) is staying put at 85. It'll be at least another year and a couple months before we get another level increase.
|
07-11-2009, 04:33 PM
|
|
Developer
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
|
|
Either way, as long as it isn't hindering normal servers at all, and isn't a massive amount of extra code, I don't see any reason it couldn't be added in for servers wanting to make use of higher levels. We know there are at least a few out there that do want to or do already.
|
08-29-2009, 05:55 AM
|
Fire Beetle
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 16
|
|
Sorry to sound like a tool here and uneducated, however just looking at this from an outsiders standpoint wouldnt it just be easier to set XP required per level to 50% and then just modify the XP rates down to 50% as well allowing for 188 levels without rolling over the numbers?
And for hitting 254 or 255 then couldnt one just reduce XP required to level down to say 15% of its current value and then reduce xp rates to 15% as well allowing more than enough room for the 254 levels without pssible rollover?
|
08-29-2009, 06:59 PM
|
|
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Umm
Posts: 1,492
|
|
yeah there is no reason to use 1,000 to represent XP from 1 to 2, when you could use say 100, or even 20
and then max level could be much much higher - isn't it?
|
11-22-2009, 02:28 PM
|
Sarnak
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 62
|
|
That's a good option, but it would also cause current servers to change their config (oh no!!1).
Theoretically couldn't you just make this a "long long" type and therefore 64bits long allowing for over 18 000 000 000 000 000 000 or level 181,211 (given other restrictions allow)?
P.S.- This is just an observation from a novice, but isn't level^3*3.1*1000 additional CPU cycles, rather than 3100*level^3, no decimal and less operations?
|
11-22-2009, 04:23 PM
|
|
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Umm
Posts: 1,492
|
|
what ever it takes- I just need my lev 255 =)
|
11-22-2009, 09:49 PM
|
|
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: May 2007
Location: b
Posts: 1,447
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosSlayerZ
what ever it takes- I just need my lev 255 =)
|
Level 255 is a bad idea. If you make level 255, players can use spells regardless of class.
ChaosSlayer, why not check out the exp code from the x5 diff?
|
11-26-2009, 02:28 AM
|
Sarnak
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 62
|
|
Secrets and I worked on this a bit tonight. It looks possible, with the exception of one area:
Code:
struct LevelUpdate_Struct
{
/*00*/ uint32 level; // New level
/*04*/ uint32 level_old; // Old level
/*08*/ uint32 exp; // Current Experience
};
Looks like it sends the xp to the client :( I am compiling the server as we speak to see if it will work with changing that as well to a long long. If this does not work, I will also try not sending the exp variable in the packets to the client, I think this may cause you to have to zone to update the level, but hey can't hurt to try (heck if it works I might have done something productive for once!).
|
11-26-2009, 03:01 AM
|
|
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Umm
Posts: 1,492
|
|
Guys- if you can get this to work- I will named npcs after you!!!
I can even make you Raid bosses! =)
|
09-13-2010, 09:06 AM
|
Hill Giant
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 236
|
|
So has this gone anywhere. I know akkadius has a way to get to atleast 90 on his server. I plan on asking him how its done. I would like level 100 on mine if possible for the time being.
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:12 PM.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|