|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
OpenEQ::Development Development discussion for OpenEQ. Do not post for support. |
11-27-2004, 03:21 AM
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 469
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbb
Good morning!
I've put my dump for dranksscar at
http://eqengine.fx2100.com/output.txt
The position data looks the same as yours.
However my renderer seems to be rather wrong in that zone too.
I need to do some more checking.
Edit: I rewrote this post as first of all I though mine was working but it's not. Perhaps we've misinterpreted the data structure in some way. It looks right, but maybe those aren't just x, y, z rotations,
|
Have you thought that maybe you use the unknown for something? hmm...
|
11-27-2004, 04:43 AM
|
Hill Giant
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 242
|
|
Yeah I'm going to spend some time on this afternoon.
Hopefully it should be possible to figure out what's wrong, but first I need to get my renderer code working properly again
|
11-27-2004, 04:45 AM
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 469
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbb
Yeah I'm going to spend some time on this afternoon.
Hopefully it should be possible to figure out what's wrong, but first I need to get my renderer code working properly again
|
Ok
In the mean time I'm going to debug my new file loader and then implement wld support hehe
If you need any help, just post... gmail notifies me of new posts hehe
|
11-27-2004, 06:07 AM
|
Hill Giant
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 242
|
|
This is annoying me now :
I have this
which doesn't look too bad. Much of that geometry is placable objects placed right next to the main world object. But there are some objects in mid-air.
And then there is this:
Where the doors seem to be exactly 90degrees in one axis out. They are facing the middle of the room, not across the doorway.
Maybe I need to rotate one of my axis by 90degrees.
|
11-27-2004, 06:18 AM
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 469
|
|
Awesome... good work
You're definitely closer than I am hehe.
Did the unknown value have anything to do with it?
|
11-27-2004, 06:27 AM
|
Hill Giant
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 242
|
|
Which is the unknown value?
I've pretty much got the same basic idea as you I think.
I've just been playing about with swapping around the axes for rotations until it looks about right.
Still working on it but rapidly getting annoyed that it's close but not quite there
|
11-27-2004, 07:11 AM
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 469
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbb
Which is the unknown value?
I've pretty much got the same basic idea as you I think.
I've just been playing about with swapping around the axes for rotations until it looks about right.
Still working on it but rapidly getting annoyed that it's close but not quite there
|
The unknown value is the first in the struct... before the model name offset.
Yea, I know the feeling for sure... that's practically all i've been doing for the last 3 or 4 days lol.
Good luck, and I hope you figure it out hehe
|
|
|
|
11-28-2004, 01:58 AM
|
Hill Giant
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 242
|
|
This is strange.
Most of Anguish looks fine but there are a number of objects in the sky which don't seem to belong. Now Anguish is an "indoor" zone so it's entirely possible that they are there on live too and just not visible either because you can't get to where they are, or they are hidden for some reason with fog or clipping plane or the shaders don't draw them or something.
Sadly I can't get to Anguish on live as it's a keyed zone I don't have the key for.... But the zones I can get to look pretty flawless. It can be very hard indeed to match up what I can see with what I can see on live because it looks so much better on live with the bump maps, proper lighting and fog etc. But the objects do seem to be in the right place most of the time.
Are you able to post a full copy of your code and I can see if I can get it working on my machine and at least find out where it looks different to my code and what causes thouse differences?
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
11-28-2004, 03:49 AM
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 469
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbb
This is strange.
Most of Anguish looks fine but there are a number of objects in the sky which don't seem to belong. Now Anguish is an "indoor" zone so it's entirely possible that they are there on live too and just not visible either because you can't get to where they are, or they are hidden for some reason with fog or clipping plane or the shaders don't draw them or something.
Sadly I can't get to Anguish on live as it's a keyed zone I don't have the key for.... But the zones I can get to look pretty flawless. It can be very hard indeed to match up what I can see with what I can see on live because it looks so much better on live with the bump maps, proper lighting and fog etc. But the objects do seem to be in the right place most of the time.
Are you able to post a full copy of your code and I can see if I can get it working on my machine and at least find out where it looks different to my code and what causes thouse differences?
|
Source is available at http://home.archshadow.com/~daeken/openeq.tar.bz2
It's slow as hell right now because I'm using an octree for drawing but I'm not actually culling yet (I commented it out for the tarball since it's buggy as fuck) but it'll work
Thanks for giving it a shot... hopefully you'll be more successful than I
|
|
|
|
11-28-2004, 04:20 AM
|
Hill Giant
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 242
|
|
Hmm yes it's for unix.
First task it to port to windows then as my only linux machine is a server only without even a display of any kind.
|
11-28-2004, 04:22 AM
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 469
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbb
Hmm yes it's for unix.
First task it to port to windows then as my only linux machine is a server only without even a display of any kind.
|
It _should_ be no trouble to port it to windows. The only major change should be changing the main() function to WinMain or whatever that is. Everything else is written to be portable (binary modes, SDL, OpenGL, etc)
|
11-28-2004, 04:25 AM
|
Hill Giant
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 242
|
|
It's lots of small stuff.
Like the opengl headers require windows.h to be installed first.
And I've got to install SDL etc. first.
Working on it
|
11-28-2004, 04:49 AM
|
Hill Giant
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 242
|
|
Compiled and linked with about 20 changes to the source. Mostly adding #include <windows> in appropriate places. But now it's crashing when I try to load anguish on the line starting with !strcmp the this->model_data.models[j]->tex[i]-> is null so when it tries to get the filename it's crashing. Looking at it...
tex_tmp = 1;
for(i = 0; i < this->model_data.models[j]->tex_count; ++i) {
for(k = 0; k < this->model_data.zone_model->tex_count; ++k) {
if((!this->model_data.zone_model->tex[k]->filename && !this->model_data.models[j]->tex[i]->filename) ||
(this->model_data.zone_model->tex[k]->filename &&
this->model_data.models[j]->tex[i]->filename &&
!strcmp(this->model_data.zone_model->tex[k]->filename, this->model_data.models[j]->tex[i]->filename))) {
tex_tmp = 0;
break;
}
}
Edit: Actually it's not null, it's *uninitialized*. j is 212 when this happens
|
11-28-2004, 05:03 AM
|
Hill Giant
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 242
|
|
I'll narrow this down some more.
model[212] has a tex_count of 1
And it's tex memory points to a valid structure, but the filename member of that structure is not initialized.
Can't figure out why just yet but I'm looking. I mention it here in case this means anything to you.
|
11-28-2004, 05:16 AM
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 469
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbb
I'll narrow this down some more.
model[212] has a tex_count of 1
And it's tex memory points to a valid structure, but the filename member of that structure is not initialized.
Can't figure out why just yet but I'm looking. I mention it here in case this means anything to you.
|
What is probably happening is that the .TER material list loader is acting up again and not setting the filename properly. I'd add some printf()s to do some debugging
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:42 PM.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|