Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Bots

Development::Bots Forum for bots.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #391  
Old 03-13-2008, 12:32 AM
cubber
Discordant
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 374
Default

Thanks for the help. I was able to play around with the bot system last night and had a blast. The system is amazing!

I did notice that I had to zone before my bots would cast any spells over level 1, and I also had random game client crashes when using the bots system that I never experienced using the regular 1102 server. My client just froze up 3 times in about a 4 hour time frame. In different zones, all when using the bots. I was able to open task manager and kill the client which was labeled "not responding", then restart the client and log back into the server. Looking at the server's built in web interface it looks like 1 of my 5 dynamic zones restarted, it has a start count of 2.

The zones I experienced the crashes in were, Plane of Knowledge, HateplaneB, and Plane of Growth. Those were pretty much the only zones I visited too. The crashes happened on 2 different characters running different bots. 2 happened when the bots were casting and in combat, the other happened when I was spawning a bot, but the other bots were also buffing.

However, I had so much fun using the bot system that the crashes didn't really even bother me that much.
  #392  
Old 03-13-2008, 12:54 AM
Congdar
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: my own little world
Posts: 751
Default

The original design was for solo play with the bots. I think there are likely issues with two pc's in the same zone running bots at the same time, however it seems to work great for filling the last slots when single grouping with friends.
  #393  
Old 03-13-2008, 12:58 AM
cubber
Discordant
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 374
Default

I was only running 1 pc with a full group of bots. When I said 2 characters I meant that at one point I switched to another character and created a new set of bots.
  #394  
Old 03-13-2008, 01:18 AM
Congdar
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: my own little world
Posts: 751
Default

hmm, I was in plane of mischief all night and didn't have any problems with locking up. Are you using my sources or some other? I think there are two or three versions around. That's not to say there aren't multitudes of issues with the bots but they are quite a bit more stable than before. If you could remember exactly what you were doing maybe I could debug a little bit in that area.
  #395  
Old 03-13-2008, 01:30 AM
cubber
Discordant
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 374
Default

I was using your 1102 sources on a gentoo linux server and running the titanium client on windows xp. Like I said it seems to be random when the bots cast a spell. I am not sure if its a cleric bot or enchanter bot that keeps hosing me. I will have to do more testing and pay more attention to whats happening before the crashes.

The bots I had up were: enchanter, cleric, shaman, necro, monk. I gave them all their epics to start then went hunting to gear them up after that. Most of them are still pretty naked.

I also noticed that the chanter bots don't cast any kind of mana buffs and have a hard time with mezzing adds, even when I use the #bot ai mez command. I don't ever see any haste being casted either. But that all probably has to do with the spell table in the database.
  #396  
Old 03-13-2008, 04:51 AM
Congdar
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: my own little world
Posts: 751
Default

I guessing it's the enchanter bot. I've never used one because I think it tries to root instead of mez dunno. I've tested with Cleric, Monk, Mage, Beastlord, Shadowknight, Warrior, Paladin, Shaman, Berserker, Druid, Wizard, Necromancer without issues.

I think ranger probably works but not with a bow. I think bard can sing one song and melee but I haven't tested extensively.

The spell selection isn't that great. I've worked up a modification to the spells a Cleric casts for npc_spells_entries but I'm not totally happy with it due to the self only buffs also get cast as on the other members of the group.

There's lots to do to get bots more robust.
  #397  
Old 03-13-2008, 04:54 AM
cubber
Discordant
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 374
Default

Could be the chanter bot, I will try again when I have a chance with a different bot. I noticed when I tried a bard bot all's she did was melee, no songs.
  #398  
Old 03-13-2008, 10:44 AM
Aramid
Discordant
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 356
Default

I have been playing the following Bots with no trouble even with 2 different people in the same zone using bots:
Cleric, Enchanter, Warrior, Shaman and Wizard

I just figured out today how to get the Enchanter to use MEZ.

First off, lets talk about what you have to do with the spells. I have started to make new ones for my toons, but you can adjust the existing ones in the database.

All spells have a minimum and Maximum spell level. You can only have 16 spells on a bot at any given time. The spells are determined by the Bots Level and Maximum Level settings in the spell database.

I use level 65 bots, so that's what I will use as examples.

All the Level 65 Spells of course have a minimum level of 65 and of course will load onto a level 65 bot. You may have to use the #AI SPELLSLIST # to get them using the correct list. Now, what I did was set the chanter to have all the good buff spells and of course, all the level 65 spells and 65 Mez. On any root spell, I made sure that the Minimum & Maximum level were below 65. 64 will work. This way no root spell would load on the 65 Bot. The spells that I wanted it to load that were below level 65, you just have to raise the maximum level to your Bots level or higher. It will load the 16 spells with the highest maximum in reverse order... I think but not really tested that part as I just have it so 16 spells will load based on the Bots level.

So, again, for an Enchanter to mez, there cannot be a root spell in there list of 16 spells (at least this is how I got mez to work instead of root) Make sure your mez spell in the database is set to a ROOT type. As long as there are no root spells in the bots 16 spell list, then mez will work. The spells load into the 16 slots based on priority. The higher the priority the closer to the top it goes. Not sure if this has any advantage or not.... but that's how that works.

BTW. I think you also have to restart your EMU Server after making the changes to your Spells in order for them to take effect. If you don't, please let me know how.

So what I have done, is to make my Wizard not do any buffs but have all the high nukes, the enchanter to have the highest mez and mana regen buffs, the Cleric to have the Highest HP buffs and AC buffs and no nukes and the shaman to have the best slow and PC Bots, all Group Spells on the buffs as well and so far it's working great.
__________________
Random Segments of Code....
  #399  
Old 03-14-2008, 11:05 AM
cubber
Discordant
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 374
Default

Hmm 2 nights ago the bots were accepting items fine and displaying them correctly when worn. Now when I hand a bot an item it does not display the item on the bot and I get a dupe of the item back in my cursor. When I do a #bot inventory list the item shows correctly in the correct slot. If I kill the bot and respawn it then it comes back with the inventory item displayed correctly. The only thing I did to my server was update the quests via CVS and restart the server.

I tried restarting the server again and it did not help.
  #400  
Old 03-14-2008, 11:30 AM
cavedude's Avatar
cavedude
The PEQ Dude
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: -
Posts: 1,988
Default

Delete default.pl in quests, it prevents items from being handed to bots properly. I'm trying to find a way around that.
  #401  
Old 03-14-2008, 11:55 AM
cubber
Discordant
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 374
Default

Ok thanks cavedude I thought it had to have come from that update. One other thing I notice is as soon as I hand them the item they take off runnin'. Probably all part of the same issue.
  #402  
Old 03-16-2008, 09:06 AM
cavedude's Avatar
cavedude
The PEQ Dude
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: -
Posts: 1,988
Default

In case anybody uses PEQ's CVS to update their database:

http://eqemulator.net/forums/showpos...9&postcount=26
  #403  
Old 03-16-2008, 09:34 AM
Congdar
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: my own little world
Posts: 751
Default

I've updated the 1102 bots again. Source and Binaries
fixes:
Mana regen for caster bots is a little faster now
Bots will reflect worn gear stats better
Fixed issue with default.pl
  #404  
Old 03-19-2008, 06:29 PM
burnme
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Default

So is anyone planning on or finished cranking out an improved or *gasp* complete npc_spells_entries list for the rest of us to use?

Or should I go ahead and do it myself?
  #405  
Old 03-20-2008, 01:22 AM
Congdar
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: my own little world
Posts: 751
Default

I've done it for the Cleric but haven't had time for the other classes. Feel free to contribute. Remember, these entries affect all npc casters, not just bots.
Closed Thread


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:51 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3