|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Support::Linux Servers Support forum for Linux EQEMu users. |
|
|
|
01-05-2009, 09:51 AM
|
AX Classic Developer
|
|
Join Date: May 2006
Location: filler
Posts: 2,049
|
|
NVidia used to have their own generic Linux driver updates, which worked very well for me (Mandriva didn't always get my video driver right).
They probably still have it.
Code:
# File generated by XFdrake (rev 247269)
# **********************************************************************
# Refer to the xorg.conf man page for details about the format of
# this file.
# **********************************************************************
Section "ServerFlags"
#DontZap # disable <Ctrl><Alt><BS> (server abort)
AllowMouseOpenFail # allows the server to start up even if the mouse does not work
#DontZoom # disable <Ctrl><Alt><KP_+>/<KP_-> (resolution switching)
EndSection
Section "Module"
Disable "dri"
Load "dbe" # Double-Buffering Extension
Load "v4l" # Video for Linux
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx" # 3D layer
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard1"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
Option "XkbOptions" "compose:rwin"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse2"
Driver "evdev"
Option "device" "/dev/input/by-id/usb--event-mouse"
Option "HWheelRelativeAxisButtons" "7 6"
EndSection
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "monitor1"
VendorName "Generic"
ModelName "1024x768 @ 70 Hz"
HorizSync 31.5-57.0
VertRefresh 50-70
# TV fullscreen mode or DVD fullscreen output.
# 768x576 @ 79 Hz, 50 kHz hsync
ModeLine "768x576" 50.00 768 832 846 1000 576 590 595 630
# 768x576 @ 100 Hz, 61.6 kHz hsync
ModeLine "768x576" 63.07 768 800 960 1024 576 578 590 616
EndSection
Section "Device"
Identifier "device1"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 6100 and later"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "DPMS"
Option "DynamicTwinView" "false"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "screen1"
Device "device1"
Monitor "monitor1"
EndSection
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "layout1"
InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Mouse2" "SendCoreEvents"
Screen "screen1"
EndSection
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
01-05-2009, 10:17 AM
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 374
|
|
Not much different than mine:
Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "X.org Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/share/X11/rgb"
ModulePath "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/OTF"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
EndSection
Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "record"
Load "GLcore"
Load "xtrap"
Load "extmod"
Load "glx"
# Load "dri"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Monitor Model"
EndSection
Section "Device"
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "Unknown Board"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Option "RenderAccel" "True"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
Option "UseEvents" "False"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 1
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 4
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 8
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 15
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 16
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection
Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection
Wont be able to fart around with this till tonight but maybe I need to try specifying my screen resolution in xorg.conf instead of letting X auto detect it. I see yours is set up that way.
So you do have spell effects then, hmm...
I also see that you have DPMS enabled do you know what that is for?
I use the nvidia-drivers package and it pretty much auto configs xorg.conf for you. I just had to do some tweaking after that.
|
|
|
|
01-05-2009, 11:46 AM
|
AX Classic Developer
|
|
Join Date: May 2006
Location: filler
Posts: 2,049
|
|
Might be still a problem with the install package from NVidia, you might want to Google for those missing pixel shader versions, see what pops up.
Also try one more thing, can you replace your /Titanium/RenderEffects directory with a fresh one?
|
01-05-2009, 12:26 PM
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 374
|
|
A fresh one meaning from another install of titanium?
|
01-05-2009, 12:37 PM
|
AX Classic Developer
|
|
Join Date: May 2006
Location: filler
Posts: 2,049
|
|
Yea, one that you know works - don't delete your old one though, just rename it or something (just incase)
|
01-05-2009, 12:40 PM
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 374
|
|
Hmm pixel shaders are working fine in WoW under wine. And all my native games fly, doom3 (Ultra Settings) Quake 4 (Ultra). NWN. In wow I average about 100-250 FPS depending on where I am and that is with all settings maxed out.
Could be something with the drivers I am using, I belive they are marked as unstable in gentoo which probably means they are the nvidia beta drivers.
At this point I am just happy to be able to play on my eqemu server again.
|
01-05-2009, 07:26 PM
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 374
|
|
I just duplicated my issues to the T on a different laptop with an ATI Radeon X1600. This is an Gentoo x86 based system with a dual core centrino.
Using a clean, hacked wine 1.1.12 with the hacked .dll file and eqclient posted at wineHQ.
Same issues:
-fullscreen mouse issue
-no spell effects
havent messed with the shaders but I bet I will have more issues on this than on the nvidia platform. The game is playable in a window though. Also note that I had to downgrade my ati drivers to get them to work right with wine. Before the downgrade it would hang up X. Need to use any ATI proprietary drivers before 8.500 to make it work. Currently I am using 8.493.
|
01-05-2009, 09:03 PM
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 374
|
|
After further testing on the ati/centrino platform I found the same pixel shader and advanced lighting issues as well.
|
01-05-2009, 09:27 PM
|
AX Classic Developer
|
|
Join Date: May 2006
Location: filler
Posts: 2,049
|
|
See if you got this application; 'nvidia-settings' , should be able to just run the command, it usually is in /usr/bin/ I think it comes with the nvidia driver install.
|
|
|
|
01-06-2009, 12:05 AM
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 374
|
|
Yah that is pulled in by default when I emerge nvidia-drivers in gentoo. I have gone through all of those settings. Right now everything is on application controlled and pretty much default. I use that when I need to set up a dual monitor. I don't think it is an nvidia issue since I can duplicate all of the same problems on an ATI based machine.
I did however manage to cob up a somewhat backwoods style hack job work around for my full screen issue.
1. Go to desktop background settings and change the background to just black
2. Start the game in windowed mode and center it in the desktop.
My desktop resolution is 1680x1050 and I need to run EQ in a window that is 1600x1024, because if I run it in a 1680x1050 window the wine menu border on top of the window causes the bottom of the window to be cut off and my mouse to click in the wrong place. If I scale the window down to 1600x1024 the window fits perfectly vertically and I have 40 pixels on each side of the window. With the black background it blends with the black border of the screen and looks like I am playing the game in a letterbox. Before my desktop background was too distracting.
This is very tolerable until real fixes can be found.
Like I said its not pretty but it gets the job done. I have a feeling my spell effect problem is related to me not being able to use pixel shaders 1.4 or 2.0
More research and trial and error shall tell.
Hey at least we beat this dead horse till it flipped over a bit!
|
|
|
|
01-06-2009, 07:04 AM
|
AX Classic Developer
|
|
Join Date: May 2006
Location: filler
Posts: 2,049
|
|
Makes me wonder why pixel shaders 1.4 or 2.0 didn't work with me before, but do now. I thought maybe it was Cedega, but must be something else.
I paid Cedega membership for over a year just because I wanted to use Eq in Linux, and really, they don't even support Everquest anymore, just have a few users that post ideas in the forums. Would be nice to try again with Cedega (just to see if that problem merges again), but I'm not going to give Cedega any more money since they don't support my game (money better spent to the Wine project).
|
01-06-2009, 09:21 AM
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 374
|
|
I don't see any need for cedega. I did the same as you. Paid for a year and fought with it more than anything. It never worked for eq and wow always ran better in wine. If I recall correctly the last time I tried cedega (~6 months ago) it had the no model issue on titanium and lagged horribly.
|
01-06-2009, 09:33 AM
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 374
|
|
My issues may also be dual core related. Both my test pc's are dual core and yours is not. Also you have an older geforce card, whereas the one in my laptop is pretty new.
When I get some time I may give this a shot on one of my older boxes with a single core x86 cpu and a geforce 7800 agp card. Just need to finish my gentoo install on that machine and get a sound card for it.
The older geforce cards use an older driver, and are not supported by the new one. For instance my game server runs gentoo and has a geforce 5900 fx series card and I have to mask any drivers past the 143 series of drivers.
That machine uses these drivers: x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-173.14.15
My laptop on the other hand needs to use the latest nvidia drivers so I use: x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-177.82
|
01-06-2009, 02:24 PM
|
AX Classic Developer
|
|
Join Date: May 2006
Location: filler
Posts: 2,049
|
|
I was thinking it could be dual core too - problem is, there's much info on Everquest and Linux, but no info on Everquest Titanium and EqEmu, aside from what we post, so we got to blaze a new trail.
Dual Core has dropped a lot in price, so maybe this year I might get one, so I get experience in that area too.
|
01-06-2009, 02:39 PM
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 374
|
|
In order to play eq under wine with dual core you need to start it with the following command. Found this on the wineHQ site:
Code:
taskset -c 0 wine eqgame.exe patchme
I tried the game at first with just wine eqgame.exe patchme and it did play but was a bit slower than when I ran the above command. So I just created a script in my EQ directory called "start" that contains the above command.
then I just run eq by typing ./start in my eq directory.
The command just binds the game to one cpu. So I guess if you wanted to you may be able to run another instance of the game on the second cpu by using:
Code:
taskset -c 1 wine eqgame.exe patchme
From a separate EQ Titanium install of course.
Hopefully further testing will give us some concrete answers as to why these things are happening.
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:04 PM.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|