Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Support > Archive::Linux Servers

Archive::Linux Servers Archive area for Linux Servers's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 10-02-2002, 02:26 PM
btuch
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 81
Default

woot!

Adding in the code above allowed me to connect from outside and inside my firewall....

/cheer

-Brian
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 10-03-2002, 02:35 AM
TheClaus
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Manteca, CA
Posts: 352
Default

Okay now explain what you have in your loginserver.ini and what your zone ips are pointing too. I am curious and would like to try this out myself.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 10-03-2002, 02:51 AM
btuch
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 81
Default

I am running Login/World/Zone all on the Linux box....

Where it says "my.domain.com" is where my domain name is, which is a public IP.

LoginServer.ini:
--snip--
[LoginServer]
loginserver=my.domain.com
loginserver2=my.domain.com
loginport=5999
loginport2=5999
locked=false
worldname=Testing
worldaddress=my.domain.com
account=
password=

[WorldServer]
Defaultstatus=Public
Unavailzone=

[LoginConfig]
ServerMode=Standalone
ServerPort=
UplinkAddress=
UplinkPort=
UplinkAccount=
UplinkPassword=
--snip--

And in the eqemud script from before, the function launching the zone servers looks like this:

--snip--
PUB_IP=my.domain.com

# syntax startzone zonename port
startzone() {
echo -n " Starting $1: "
#should this not specify the zone name anymore?
./Zone '.' $PUB_IP $2 $PUB_IP > $1.log 2> $1.errors &
echo_success
echo
}
--snip--

Forgot...my eqhosts.txt file points at "my.domain.com:5999" for both inside and outside the Linux box.

-Brian
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 10-03-2002, 03:15 AM
Trumpcard
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,614
Default

How are you running a loginserver on linux?
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 10-03-2002, 03:20 AM
btuch
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 81
Default

Ah,

I downloaded the old login source posted on www.eqemu.org.

It is the login source....just an old version.

The only problem I have with it is...sometimes it takes several tryes to get into the world server, because the world log says:

Bad/expired session key: ls#1

I am looking at the source to try to fix this.

It usually takes about 2-10 tries for the world server to get in. And to create an account I followed the instructions from the .txt file with the Login binary for windows. My Linux box is also running the MySQL server.

-Brian
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 10-03-2002, 07:15 AM
Trumpcard
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,614
Default

Maybe we can convince image and co. to merge this change into the baseline so we don't have to reapply it. Verify that it doesnt cause any problems on the windows version, and I think it's a good solution.

Image, any chance of this happening? Pulling in this change will make it more flexible, I would think this would keep the problem from occuring on the windows side as well. No more worries about where your putting your server, and where youre trying to log in from.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 10-03-2002, 07:17 AM
btuch
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 81
Default

I shot an email off to image about it, hoping he would do the same you suggested

-Brian
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 10-03-2002, 07:24 AM
Trumpcard
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,614
Default

I hated it never got rolled in when theCoder worked on it the first time, it was a problem that was driving me nuts, and I never could get the dns override technique to work right for me. Its a simple change, just didnt work. I had a weird shit development server at the time, so no telling.

I'll harass him about it on IRC when I get on tonight. You ought to jump on IRC and join up with the dev team Btuch, you've obviously got some code saavy! The more the merrier!
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 10-03-2002, 07:43 AM
btuch
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 81
Default

The only problem I've run into so far is I cannot "telnet my.domain.com 9000" from the machine now to get into the console for the world server. Dunno why. Gotta look at it some more. It takes the login/passwd but then says its wrong...

I'll try to pop in there tonight or Friday

-Brian
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 10-03-2002, 09:25 AM
penfold1972
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 13
Default

Silly question, but is your login/password in the account table of MySQL? I seem to always forget to add it when I drop my database and rebuild. BTW, a decent GUI for mySQL and Gnome can be found at: http://www.gnome.org/softwaremap/projects/gmyclient

It's a far cry from character editing and other EQEMU functions available in the admin tool, but for some easy database tweaking (clearing tables, data edits, etc.) I've fallen in love with it.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 10-03-2002, 09:31 AM
btuch
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 81
Default

ahhhhh!

Thanks, fergot to check there. Some how the password field for the accound got cleared.

Can now log into the world server console.

I have always been partial to http://www.phpmyadmin.net/

Thanks for the tip!

-Brian
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 10-03-2002, 09:50 AM
penfold1972
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 13
Default

Yeah, I have some projects to start playing with the phpmyadmin and phpmyedit stuff... just kinda buried in other little projects at the moment. I gave a halfhearted attempt to get it running a couple of weeks ago, but I ran into some glitches, so I went back to my MySQL projects. Who said Attention Deficet Disorder was a bad thing?
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 10-23-2002, 07:52 AM
btuch
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 81
Default

Image and the other Devs,

Can you please add this into the world code if possible so the world server only binds to one IP address?

In the file ~/world/console.cpp for the line:

address.sin_addr.s_addr = htonl(INADDR_ANY);

and put a // in front of it.

Then below that line paste the lines (without the --snip--):

--snip--
// bind only to the address specified as the world address
hostent* bindaddr = gethostbyname(net.GetWorldAddress());

if (bindaddr != NULL)
{
#ifdef WIN32
memcpy ((char FAR *)&(address.sin_addr), bindaddr->h_addr, bindaddr->h_length);
#else
memcpy ((char*)&(address.sin_addr), bindaddr->h_addr, bindaddr->h_length);
#endif
}
else
{
// could not resolve world address... bind to all interfaces then
cout << "Error: could not resolve world address " << net.GetWorldAddress() << endl;
cout << "Listening on INADDR_ANY" << endl;
address.sin_addr.s_addr = htonl(INADDR_ANY);
}
--snip--

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 10-23-2002, 09:29 AM
Trumpcard
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,614
Default

Good solution... If it doesnt find the world address, resort to any incoming..

Image, dont make me beg here.. lol.... I finally got my linux server rebuilt, I want to actually run a server again and be able to log onto it !
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 11-04-2002, 12:40 PM
Trumpcard
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,614
Default

Hmmm.. This code change doesnt work for me quite.. The world server reports it's listening on that right interface, but still doesnt get through..

There are at least 2 other places than specify INADDR_ANY,

TCPConnection.cpp and EQNetwork.cpp .

I think they need to be modified to bind properly as well.
__________________
Quitters never win, and winners never quit, but those who never win and never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3