|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Development::Bug Reports Post detailed bug reports and what you would like to see next in the emu here. |
|
|
|
11-27-2012, 06:13 AM
|
|
Developer
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Halas
Posts: 355
|
|
Possible issue using GetItem() in SharedDatabase::SetStartingItems()
Heyas,
I add some items to players inventories during character creation and everything works fine except for an item that has a click effect on it.
In the SharedDatabase::SetStartingItems() method I add a charm for each class like this.
Code:
// Charms
if (pp->class_ == WARRIOR)
inv->PutItem(inv->FindFreeSlot(0,0), GetItem(3400));
The item appears in the player inventory correctly, however when I try to right click the item I get the message 'Item is out of charges'. If I delete the item and #si it again, the click effect works fine.
This makes me think that something is not getting initialised correctly when calling GetItem() at this point. Any ideas? I looked at the code but I can't find anything which would cause this.
EDIT: I am using HoT client and rev 2214 of the source.
__________________
Drajor regards you indifferently -- what would you like your tombstone to say?
|
|
|
|
11-27-2012, 06:23 AM
|
|
Dragon
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 719
|
|
this doesn't address the issue you're having, but why not just edit the starting_items table in the database?
|
11-27-2012, 06:32 AM
|
|
Developer
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Halas
Posts: 355
|
|
Because it is /much/ easier (for me) to change 10 lines of code in the source. The starting_items table offers flexibility I frankly don't need.
__________________
Drajor regards you indifferently -- what would you like your tombstone to say?
|
|
|
|
11-27-2012, 06:42 AM
|
|
Dragon
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 719
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drajor
Heyas,
I add some items to players inventories during character creation and everything works fine except for an item that has a click effect on it.
In the SharedDatabase::SetStartingItems() method I add a charm for each class like this.
Code:
// Charms
if (pp->class_ == WARRIOR)
inv->PutItem(inv->FindFreeSlot(0,0), GetItem(3400));
The item appears in the player inventory correctly, however when I try to right click the item I get the message 'Item is out of charges'. If I delete the item and #si it again, the click effect works fine.
This makes me think that something is not getting initialised correctly when calling GetItem() at this point. Any ideas? I looked at the code but I can't find anything which would cause this.
EDIT: I am using HoT client and rev 2214 of the source.
|
in SetStartingItems(), it looks as though CreateBaseItem() is called on the result of GetItem(), and then that item instance is passed to inv->PutItem().
|
|
|
|
11-27-2012, 07:06 AM
|
|
Developer
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Halas
Posts: 355
|
|
I changed my code to use CreateBaseItem() however the result is still the same. I thought you had it solved c0ncrete! Thank you
EDIT: New code FYI:
Code:
// Class Charms.
const int BASE_CHARM = 3400;
const int NUM_CHARM_RANKS = 100;
const Item_Struct* classCharm = GetItem(BASE_CHARM + ((pp->class_-1) * NUM_CHARM_RANKS));
inv->PutItem(inv->FindFreeSlot(0,0), *CreateBaseItem(classCharm, 0));
__________________
Drajor regards you indifferently -- what would you like your tombstone to say?
|
11-27-2012, 07:27 AM
|
|
Dragon
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 719
|
|
that looks like exactly what SetStartingItems() is doing now. i'm at a loss.
|
11-27-2012, 07:59 AM
|
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,742
|
|
What is MaxCharges set to on the item?
Did you try putting the item in the starting_items table? Did it work?
Honestly, I can't imagine a situation where having to recompile the code to change the items is easier than just adding them to the database, but do what you like.
|
11-27-2012, 09:05 AM
|
|
Developer
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Halas
Posts: 355
|
|
Hi lerxst2112,
maxcharges is -1 in the db. I cant put items into the starting_items table because it is *gone*, deleted. As I stated, I do not need the flexibility offered by the starting_items table, I do not change what items players start with now that they are set.
The concept of putting starting_items into a table is just a design choice, probably to make customisation easier for people not comfortable changing the source. The devs just chose to put starting items in a table and decided to hardcode starting stats yet both can be customised.
__________________
Drajor regards you indifferently -- what would you like your tombstone to say?
|
11-27-2012, 09:23 AM
|
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 269
|
|
Quote:
*CreateBaseItem(classCharm, 0));
|
You're Telling CreateBaseItem to create an item instance with 0 charges.
As an aside, using the starting_items table is good design. You may not need the flexibility, but what about the convenience?
Once you have your build environment it's pretty easy to recompile but using the table in the database is going to be faster to do in any case, fewer keystrokes, and less opportunity for errors that spawn support threads. In terms of time alone you're at a significant net loss.
|
|
|
|
11-27-2012, 09:28 AM
|
|
Developer
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Halas
Posts: 355
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tabasco
You're Telling CreateBaseItem to create an item instance with 0 charges.
As an aside, using the starting_items table is good design. You may not need the flexibility, but what about the convenience?
Once you have your build environment it's pretty easy to recompile but using the table in the database is going to be faster to do in any case, fewer keystrokes, and less opportunity for errors that spawn support threads. In terms of time alone you're at a significant net loss.
|
Code:
ItemInst* SharedDatabase::CreateBaseItem(const Item_Struct* item, sint16 charges) {
ItemInst* inst = NULL;
if (item) {
if (charges == 0)
charges = item->MaxCharges;
if(item->CharmFileID != 0 || (item->LoreGroup >= 1000 && item->LoreGroup != -1)) {
inst = new EvoItemInst(item, charges);
((EvoItemInst*)inst)->Initialize(this);
}
else
inst = new ItemInst(item, charges);
}
return inst;
}
Where parameter charges is 0, it presumably uses the value maxcharges from the DB.
__________________
Drajor regards you indifferently -- what would you like your tombstone to say?
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
11-27-2012, 09:45 AM
|
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 269
|
|
You're right, I didn't dig into it deep enough, but in every other case in SetStartingItems charges is set, so it might be worth a try to specify your charges.
You could also revert and just do this:
Code:
SET SQL_MODE="NO_AUTO_VALUE_ON_ZERO";
CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `starting_items` (
`id` int(11) unsigned NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
`race` int(11) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0',
`class` int(11) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0',
`deityid` int(11) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0',
`zoneid` int(11) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0',
`itemid` int(11) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0',
`item_charges` tinyint(3) unsigned NOT NULL DEFAULT '1',
`gm` tinyint(1) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0',
`slot` mediumint(9) NOT NULL DEFAULT '-1',
PRIMARY KEY (`id`,`race`)
) ENGINE=InnoDB DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1 AUTO_INCREMENT=1 ;
INSERT INTO `starting_items` (`id`, `race`, `class`, `deityid`, `zoneid`, `itemid`, `item_charges`, `gm`, `slot`) VALUES
('', 0, 0, 0, 0, <itemid for stuff everyone gets>, 1, 0, -1),
('', 0, 1, 0, 0, <itemid for stuff warriors get>, 1, 0, -1),
etc;
|
|
|
|
11-27-2012, 10:34 AM
|
|
Developer
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Halas
Posts: 355
|
|
FYI I downloaded the rev2214 binaries again and the rev2214 DB, made a new DB and set it all up cleanly. I add JBoots to starting_items, create a new toon, right click the boots and get 'Item is out of charges'.
__________________
Drajor regards you indifferently -- what would you like your tombstone to say?
|
|
|
|
11-27-2012, 10:39 AM
|
|
Developer
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Halas
Posts: 355
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tabasco
You're right, I didn't dig into it deep enough, but in every other case in SetStartingItems charges is set, so it might be worth a try to specify your charges.
You could also revert and just do this:
Code:
SET SQL_MODE="NO_AUTO_VALUE_ON_ZERO";
CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `starting_items` (
`id` int(11) unsigned NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
`race` int(11) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0',
`class` int(11) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0',
`deityid` int(11) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0',
`zoneid` int(11) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0',
`itemid` int(11) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0',
`item_charges` tinyint(3) unsigned NOT NULL DEFAULT '1',
`gm` tinyint(1) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0',
`slot` mediumint(9) NOT NULL DEFAULT '-1',
PRIMARY KEY (`id`,`race`)
) ENGINE=InnoDB DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1 AUTO_INCREMENT=1 ;
INSERT INTO `starting_items` (`id`, `race`, `class`, `deityid`, `zoneid`, `itemid`, `item_charges`, `gm`, `slot`) VALUES
('', 0, 0, 0, 0, <itemid for stuff everyone gets>, 1, 0, -1),
('', 0, 1, 0, 0, <itemid for stuff warriors get>, 1, 0, -1),
etc;
|
The charges field in starting_items is type tinyint, if I wanted to start with a clicky item I would have to set it to zero anyway. I tried -1 as the parameter before I posted earlier. I have to say there seems to be an overriding assumption here that * I am wrong * and I should just do it some other way. If I find a bug good, I will save some folks some time in the future, if it is my error, even better, I learned something new.
__________________
Drajor regards you indifferently -- what would you like your tombstone to say?
|
|
|
|
11-27-2012, 11:02 AM
|
Dragon
|
|
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 965
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drajor
EDIT: I am using HoT client and rev 2214 of the source.
|
There is no HoT client. There is Titanium (dics), SoF (discs,unfortunately), SoD (Steam), and UF (Steam) among the stable builds.
|
11-27-2012, 11:16 AM
|
|
Developer
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Halas
Posts: 355
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by sorvani
There is no HoT client. There is Titanium (dics), SoF (discs,unfortunately), SoD (Steam), and UF (Steam) among the stable builds.
|
Sorry, I am using UF.
__________________
Drajor regards you indifferently -- what would you like your tombstone to say?
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:20 PM.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|