Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Development > Archive::Quests

Archive::Quests Archive area for Quests's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-28-2003, 07:46 AM
Dominatus
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 35
Default Translocating and GM commands

Is it possible to use GM commands in a quest (such as "#guild set $name 2") and also , is it possible to translocate to specific spots in other zones? (ie: I would like to have 2 translocate destinations in one zone) Any info or resources I could check out would be greatly appreciated! I am in the process of setting up a specialty server and have run into a couple of problems with my implementation.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-31-2003, 08:47 AM
DeletedUser
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 0
Default I suppose

You could make new spells that have the effect of translocating people to the loc you want.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-31-2003, 08:26 PM
Raex_The_Overlord
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Lost in the nothingness inside me.
Posts: 17
Default Re: Translocating and GM commands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominatus
Is it possible to use GM commands in a quest (such as "#guild set $name 2") and also , is it possible to translocate to specific spots in other zones? (ie: I would like to have 2 translocate destinations in one zone) Any info or resources I could check out would be greatly appreciated! I am in the process of setting up a specialty server and have run into a couple of problems with my implementation.
guildwars has this I do believe...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-01-2003, 09:27 AM
DeletedUser
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 0
Default

Awhile ago, couple months it wasn't possible for quests to use command functions.

I was going to setup a thing that would set
#flymode 1 on you. But I was told it's not possible.

Might be changed now though.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-02-2003, 08:14 AM
Dominatus
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 35
Default

Thanks for the responses guys! I think I may have found a work-around so I may not be needing that functionality anymore
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-02-2003, 04:05 PM
killspree
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 776
Default

Code:
			else if (strstr(strlwr(arglist[0]),"movepc")) {
				if (mob->IsClient())
					mob->CastToClient()->MovePC((atoi(arglist[1])),(atoi(arglist[2])),(atoi(arglist[3])),(atoi(arglist[4])));
			}
If you can compile the source, add that code to parser.cpp at about line 1694 - that'll let you input a function like this:

if($1 == "sebilis") { movepc("sebilis","x","y","z") }

X, Y, and Z is the location within the zone you want the player to be sent to - if need be, zone to that zone, find the spot you want to send them to, and target yourself. Now type #loc and input those coordinates into the quest script.

Saves you having to modify the spells file if you don't wanna create custom spells for your server.
__________________
Xeldan
Lead Content Designer
Shards of Dalaya
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-03-2003, 12:31 AM
used_pawn
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 53
Default

actually...the spells for translocating (at least the old 'boats arent working' gnomes) are in the spell list...if i remember they start with the words 'Portal to'

there are 2 of some of them, like Portal to Butcher...one takes you to normal dock, other takes you to dock with skiffs for kunark.

Im pretty sure those are the spells my gnomes use (hehe, the boats are kinda tough to get working for me)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-03-2003, 07:55 AM
killspree
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 776
Default

Yeah, but that command allows you to send people to places within zones that don't have TL locations, as well as to zones that don't have TL locations - gives you the advantage to create quests to get to closed off sections of zones or hard to get to sections without modifying the spells file.
__________________
Xeldan
Lead Content Designer
Shards of Dalaya
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-03-2003, 07:58 AM
Trumpcard
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,614
Default

Nice idea.. That is handy... Mind posting the changes to the eqemu development forum? A diff file against cvs is handy, but not necessary for an addition this small.

I like keeping them all there, so I can go through the threads and verify I've been able to apply any code fixes/updates there. It also
allows us to track if a change is applied that causes a problem later on that wasnt done by a traditional dev team member.
__________________
Quitters never win, and winners never quit, but those who never win and never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-03-2003, 03:24 PM
Dominatus
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 35
Default

Wow! thanks for the info. I'll add that section and recompile.

Any ideas on how to put a player into a specific guild via the current questing system?

thanks again for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-07-2003, 07:53 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Is parser.cpp..

Is parser.cpp part of a larger file? like world.exe? I wanna know, i'm installing VC++ and haven't had much experience with it (I have it because it was bundled with VB)...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-07-2003, 08:07 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default nevermind

nevermind, it's part of Zone.exe...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-07-2003, 08:11 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

...compiled now, thanks

... You have to use a zone number and I ended up having to change the code:
Code:
		        else if (strstr(strlwr(arglist[0]),"movepc") && numargs == 4) { 
                                        client->MovePC((atoi(arglist[1])),(atoi(arglist[2])),(atoi(arglist[3])),(atoi(arglist[4]))); 
                        }
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:27 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3