Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Development

Development::Development Forum for development topics and for those interested in EQEMu development. (Not a support forum)

Old 01-29-2010, 12:10 AM
bad_captain
Developer

Default Adding Equipment to Pets

I am working on pet focii, and have decided to go ahead and work through adding the equipment that automatically comes equipped on focused pets instead of just leaving it at equations for the pet's stats. This is my first time working with equipment, so I've been having a little trouble figuring out how to actually add the item. Since the item added is a summoned item, I see where the following code is used when a player summons an item gets the item_struct and creates an ItemInst from it.

Code:
ItemInst *SummonedItem=NULL;

const Item_Struct *item = database.GetItem(spell.base[i]);
SummonedItem=database.CreateItem(spell.base[i],charges);
However, the code that gives an item to a pet, either only requires the itemIDs (AddItem) or the Item_Struct (AddLootDrop), not the full ItemInst (and it appears the npc only stores the itemID for equipment). Would I be able to just use the itemID or item_struct to equip the pet, or would I need to make an ItemInst for the pet? And which function would be best to take itemIDs loaded from the database and turned into items that are equipped by the pet?