|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Development::Bug Reports Post detailed bug reports and what you would like to see next in the emu here. |
06-11-2016, 10:08 PM
|
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 443
|
|
Disabling Return home & tutorial - Server ruels ignored
I'm not sure exactly when this started, but the following rules seem to no longer do anything to change behavior of either of these:
Code:
World::EnableReturnHomeButton
World::EnableTutorialButton
Both of these are set to false, and it used to work to disable the features. It seems as though neither do anything at all now.
Was there a change that could have affected these?
|
06-11-2016, 11:13 PM
|
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Above Hell
Posts: 400
|
|
I've tried the same thing with the Tutorial button, with no success.
The ReturnHome is disabled, but I found that value in 3 different rule
sets in the rule values table. (1,2 & 10)
|
06-11-2016, 11:49 PM
|
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Above Hell
Posts: 400
|
|
This works pretty good for disabling Tutorial Button at login screen:
Code:
World:MaxLevelForTutorial (value) -1
|
06-11-2016, 11:49 PM
|
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 443
|
|
I've only got 2 rulesets, and both have them set to false and have had for ages now. Just seems some time since I last looked at it they became active and I can't get 'em turned off.
|
06-11-2016, 11:53 PM
|
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Above Hell
Posts: 400
|
|
Not sure if you seen my last post ^^^ (think we posted at same time), but
I guess one could always set an outrageous timer on home button.
|
07-04-2016, 11:42 AM
|
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 443
|
|
Can anybody else confirm what I'm seeing above by chance? That "Return Home" and Tutorial are not able to be disabled right now, regardless of rules?
I am real sure these were actually disabled at one time. Now nothing I do makes that work.
For now I have set the return home to a huge number, and created an ENTER_ZONE event to gate characters entering tutorialb. While these are functional workarounds, they're not the way it "should" work.
|
07-04-2016, 02:50 PM
|
|
Developer
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,815
|
|
I remember doing some work on them a few years ago and they did indeed work.
Let me fire up my server and see if I get the same results.
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous
Compilin' Dirty
|
07-04-2016, 03:15 PM
|
|
Developer
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,815
|
|
Ti thru RoF2 all showed disabled for both buttons when those rules were set to false (ruleset 1 - "default")
Is it possible that world is defaulting to a ruleset that you do not have identified in the database?
That would cause the hard-coded defaults to be used.
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous
Compilin' Dirty
|
07-04-2016, 04:19 PM
|
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 443
|
|
I have rulesets 1 and 10. Zones all set to use ruleset 10, but both settings are set to disabled in both. Further, I changed common/ruletypes.h a few weeks ago, so even the default should be disabled.
https://github.com/N0ctrnl/VAServer/...ce6a2d0abce971
Code:
-RULE_BOOL(World, EnableTutorialButton, true)
-RULE_BOOL(World, EnableReturnHomeButton, true)
+RULE_BOOL(World, EnableTutorialButton, false)
+RULE_BOOL(World, EnableReturnHomeButton, false)
I'm at a loss. I feel like I've checked and double checked but just can't find it.
|
07-06-2016, 01:45 PM
|
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 443
|
|
Wanted to circle back here and clarify/update a couple things.
The tutorial button on the character select screen is indeed disabled. It's the one on the creation screen I was looking at. Seems the rule doesn't govern that one. Setting the tutorial zone ID to 0 makes the button irrelevant and skips the tutorial entirely, regardless of whether it's set at creation or not.
|
07-06-2016, 02:25 PM
|
|
Developer
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,815
|
|
I started to look into this..but, got side-tracked :/
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous
Compilin' Dirty
|
07-06-2016, 02:28 PM
|
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 443
|
|
I just mainly wanted to let anybody know that might be following this.
Editing the UI file is another option, and one I'm going to do also. Since I have a patcher and can push these types of things, it's a no brainer. Doesn't really change anything, but that is indeed an option to hide the button entirely. I'm not terribly upset about it being there as long as it doesn't actually work - like now!
|
07-06-2016, 04:08 PM
|
|
Developer
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,815
|
|
The tutorial flags are hard-coded in the SoF+ client translators..therefore, ignoring the rule-based conditional definitions...
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous
Compilin' Dirty
|
07-06-2016, 05:04 PM
|
|
Discordant
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 443
|
|
So setting the tutorial zone to 0 is gonna be the only way to disable the tutorial button on character create then? Maybe a note on the rule wouldn't be a bad idea if so(?) I know I went with -1 for a while thinking maybe that'd do it, but it didn't.
|
07-06-2016, 05:13 PM
|
|
Developer
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,815
|
|
We can add a note, for sure.
I'll have to dig into the translator code and make those changes at some point.
Shouldn't be too hard..but, trying to trace down another issue atm.
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous
Compilin' Dirty
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:39 AM.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|