Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Development > Archive::Bugs

Archive::Bugs Archive area for Bugs's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2004, 05:19 AM
shocker1322
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 11
Default World 5.7 DR-2 crashes, memory error

I can get my server up, and EQ sees it, but as soon as I try to login, the world crashes. I get the error:

Code:
The instruction at 0x0042f875 referenced at memory 0x0000000c cannot be read
When I debug world, this is the block of code it is referring to:

Code:
0042F858   call        0044752C
0042F85D   mov         ecx,dword ptr [esi+4]
0042F860   mov         esi,ecx
0042F862   mov         eax,dword ptr [ecx+4]
0042F865   mov         ecx,dword ptr ds:[4E1694h]
0042F86B   cmp         eax,ecx
0042F86D   je          0042F887
0042F86F   mov         edx,dword ptr [esp+0Ch]
0042F873   mov         dl,byte ptr [edx]
0042F875   cmp         byte ptr [eax+0Ch],dl
0042F878   jae         0042F87F
0042F87A   mov         eax,dword ptr [eax+8]
0042F87D   jmp         0042F883
0042F87F   mov         esi,eax
0042F881   mov         eax,dword ptr [eax]
The line crashing is 0042f875. I thought it was a PC problem because my roommate connected to my server and it worked for him. When I got on, I crashed world. Now that I am home, I am trying to run this on our LAN, and multiple computers are causing the crash, not just mine. Same location, same error. I thought it might be an update issue, so I just updated now. I get the same crash same error. I am not even sure what is causing the crash. I would recompile the world, but I know for sure it once worked. Ideas? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-13-2004, 05:34 AM
shocker1322
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 11
Default

As an update, I got it pseudo working.

5.7 DR2 world & 5.7 DR2 zone CRASH
5.7 DR1 world & 5.7 DR1 zone CRASH
5.5 DR1 world & 5.7 DR1 zone WORKS

So I am guessing that it is in the world it's self. Would a recompile help? The source code I have for 5.7 DR2 is from 4-27-04. Is there a newer release that might fix this? If anyone needs any more info, I will give what I can.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-13-2004, 06:16 AM
wize_one
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: LasShithole, NV
Posts: 520
Default

you have been to chat have ya.. there a message there that says http://cvs.biosprite.net for dr source's.. latest (that worked for me) was 5-9-04
__________________
Perfect quote from another site: it's immature pricks who refuse to read the numerous stickies in every forum pointing out what to do and what not to do that get flamed. Grow up and learn to do your fucking homework before opening your cake hole, junior. EQEmu doesn't like you anymore, and that's why you're getting errors. So go away.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-13-2004, 06:28 AM
shocker1322
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 11
Default

I used the dump from 5-12-04 and recompiled zone. Now is works great. Not sure why it worked with some but not with others. Anyway, thanks a lot for you help wize one.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:57 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3