Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Development > Archive::Quests

Archive::Quests Archive area for Quests's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2004, 03:41 AM
jimbox114
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 231
Default idea for flagging quests?

I got a general idea to make a "flagging" type quest to grant access to zones. Just wondering if you think this will work? My plan would be to spawn a npc that will flag a players account stats by X amount. For instance you would defeat boss_mob and spawn a planar projection. When you hail the planar projection it will give you a emote saying you got a flag, then it could do a quest script to flag your account from 0 to 5. Then make certain zones require your access to be 5 to enter them.

I noticed some quest commands that involved various types of flagging and it seems like one of them is supposed to change your account access isn't it?

Of course to do this you will need to set all the commands you don't want users to have to a higher number, but otherwise wouldn't this work?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2004, 03:50 AM
sotonin
Demi-God
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,177
Default

you would have to have all zones require same access, which would be lame. a single flagging quest that opens access to every zone.

Because there would be no other way by just using 1 field.

The proper solution would be to make a new table "Flags" and have the following fields.

userid
crypt of decay
bertox lair
etc
etc

the various zones would be a enum of 'true', 'false'

The source code would have to be modified in a way that a quest function is added that updates the users record in this table when a flag quest is completed. and The zoning source will need to be modified to check against the flags table before allowing the players to zone into these zones.

It seems pretty simplistic from my standpoint (dont know about the coding portion) I don't really get why nobody has added one yet. I'm sure there is a reason though.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2004, 04:02 AM
killspree
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 776
Default

You'd have to do additional coding other than just adding a perl function. I had flagging coded for Evertorn before I lost the source when I had to reformat. I'll rewrite it eventually and share it with you if you're interested in it.
__________________
Xeldan
Lead Content Designer
Shards of Dalaya
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-13-2004, 04:06 AM
sotonin
Demi-God
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,177
Default

very interested.

yes i know you'd need additional coding. You'd need to modify the functions that occur when a player attempts to zone in to a zone. =)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-13-2004, 04:25 AM
fathernitwit
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 773
Default

a slightly hackish way you might be able to do it is to remove the zone points into that zone..
and stick an NPC there... you have to hail them, and they teleport you across the zone line if you meet the criteria...

I dont actually know if you can easily remove the zone point... but you can sure put a big wall in the way (:

I think you could then accomplish the rest with the npc quest variables that are allready in there..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-13-2004, 04:29 AM
Draupner
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: In my basement
Posts: 131
Default

writing code to check if you have a flag when you zone into a certain zone wouldn't be to hard. If i decide to put them in for LOTR i'll post it for you guys
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-13-2004, 04:36 AM
sotonin
Demi-God
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,177
Default

I'd love to see this merged into the cvs. )
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-13-2004, 04:37 AM
fathernitwit
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 773
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Draupner
If i decide to put them in for LOTR i'll post it for you guys
Lol, thats the second person around here in 24 hours working on Lord Of the Rings stuff

I hope this dosent affect any work being done on LDoN
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-13-2004, 06:16 AM
Cisyouc
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Heaven.
Posts: 1,260
Default

I have already partially implemented this on Prexus II Development.

Kill Boss1 -> Planar Projection Spawns (He has a despawn timer of 60 seconds OR max 6 hails)

On Hail of Planar Projection-> setglobal & yellow emote "You have recieved a character flag!"

On say "Zones" to seer -> say "zone1", "zone2"

On say "Zone3" to seer -> say "You must prove your dedication before I can discuss such matters with you."

On say "Unlock Memories" to seer -> yellow emote "You feel a bind with Zone3"

On New say "Zones" to seer -> "Zone1","Zone2","Zone3"

On New say "Zone3" to seer -> Zone into Zone3

Of course, zone points are removed but the system does work.

If you made it so the server would have to check a quest global value before carring on, then that would eliminate the need for the teleporter and would be very cool. If anyone would like to see this on my locked server send me a pm.
__________________
namespace retval { template <class T> class ReturnValueGen { private: T x; public: ReturnValueGen() { x = 0; }; T& Generator() { return x; }; }; } int main() { retval::ReturnValueGen<int> retvalue; return retvalue.Generator(); }
C++ is wonderful.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-13-2004, 06:25 AM
sotonin
Demi-God
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,177
Default

hmm... for an official live like system there'd have to be some changes.

Quote:
Kill Boss1 -> Planar Projection Spawns (He has a timer of 60 seconds OR max 6 hails)
very few projections had such a short timer. and NONE had a hail limit that i can recall. Maybe it was 60 seconds but i seem to recall rezzing people in for flags, etc which usually takes more than 60 seconds.

*edit: i remembered a bertox event having like a 30 hail limit... but i still say 6 hail limit = crazy

Quote:
On say "Zones" to seer -> say "zone1", "zone2"

On say "Zone3" to seer -> say "You must prove your dedication before I can discuss such matters with you."

On say "Unlock Memories" to seer -> yellow emote "You feel a bind with Zone3"

On New say "Zones" to seer -> "Zone1","Zone2","Zone3"

On New say "Zone3" to seer -> Zone into Zone3
not quite sure what all this is. You have a npc that teleports players into specific zones? If so that's a nice workaround for now. but i'd hope somebody could modify the "zoning" source to allow something more permanent )
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-13-2004, 06:40 AM
jimbox114
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 231
Default

I know the gnome for the mb raid has a hail limit of like 72, I never did get my mb flag cause of idiots overhailing.
Id give more then 60 seconds on the spawn time though. Id give at least 5 minutes. Normally they would depop on live in about 10 minutes I think. I never did get my grummus flag cause the raid leaders refused to let people hail till all rezzes was done. Then we had 2 corpses that fell under the world and the pp depoped and nobody got a flag.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-13-2004, 06:44 AM
Cisyouc
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Heaven.
Posts: 1,260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sotonin
hmm... for an official live like system there'd have to be some changes.

Quote:
Kill Boss1 -> Planar Projection Spawns (He has a timer of 60 seconds OR max 6 hails)
very few projections had such a short timer. and NONE had a hail limit that i can recall. Maybe it was 60 seconds but i seem to recall rezzing people in for flags, etc which usually takes more than 60 seconds.

*edit: i remembered a bertox event having like a 30 hail limit... but i still say 6 hail limit = crazy
Bertoxxulous has a 72 flag limit, and like a 10? minute despawn timer that starts after the first hail. The event I was using is a one-group named mob (which most of my server's progression is). And I have the 60 second despawn to discourage other people from coming from across the world to get the flag if the group had someone who was already flagged.

You are think of Carprin Dethorn Event which had a series of like 8 named mobs and at the end there was a 36 flag limit and it was from a named level 1 mob, not a planar projection (as if there was much difference =) )
Quote:
Quote:
On say "Zones" to seer -> say "zone1", "zone2"

On say "Zone3" to seer -> say "You must prove your dedication before I can discuss such matters with you."

On say "Unlock Memories" to seer -> yellow emote "You feel a bind with Zone3"

On New say "Zones" to seer -> "Zone1","Zone2","Zone3"

On New say "Zone3" to seer -> Zone into Zone3
not quite sure what all this is. You have a npc that teleports players into specific zones? If so that's a nice workaround for now. but i'd hope somebody could modify the "zoning" source to allow something more permanent )
"On Say" Represents BEFORE you "unlocked your memories" with the seer. On NEW Say Represents AFTER. So basically the NPC wont teleport you unless you have the flag.
__________________
namespace retval { template <class T> class ReturnValueGen { private: T x; public: ReturnValueGen() { x = 0; }; T& Generator() { return x; }; }; } int main() { retval::ReturnValueGen<int> retvalue; return retvalue.Generator(); }
C++ is wonderful.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-13-2004, 08:00 AM
jimbox114
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 231
Default

Is there no way to change the clients user status within a quest through a NPC then?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-13-2004, 08:01 AM
sotonin
Demi-God
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,177
Default

there could be if somebody creates it.... but there's no point in that

i know what you are thinking but it wont work. example.

user status:
1=plane of disease
2=plane of fire
3=plane of torment

etc. i know these arent real flag required zones, just wrote names for examples sake.

you are thinking ok... ill flag that character as 1 and theyll be able to enter plane of disease.

ok.. sure... that could work.

but now. they do the plane of fire quest and they are now status 2. cool. that works too..

but wait.. what if they skip plane of disease, go straight to pofire quest. get that flag.... oops... guess what they can enter disease now too!

so in essence all they gotta do is get the flag for the highest up zone in the list and opens access to all. thats why this system is flawed
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-13-2004, 08:17 AM
fathernitwit
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 773
Default

you can use the bits of an integer to represent the flags....

OR (| not ||) their status with 0x01, 0x02, 0x04, or 0x08 etc to set flags,
AND (&amp; not &amp;&amp their status with them to check them...

thats how a lot of things work in the emu and everywhere else in programming, it works very well.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:23 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3