Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Development

Development::Development Forum for development topics and for those interested in EQEMu development. (Not a support forum)

Old 10-31-2012, 09:54 AM
c0ncrete
Dragon

Default overriding and casting

i'm still learning C++ and i'm having a little bit of trouble wrapping my head around something. i've seen areas where group members are being iterated over as mobs, IsClient() is checked, and if true, a Client method is called on the mob through CastToClient(). can the check and cast be skipped if the method being called is overridden in the Client class? is it only necessary when the method being called is unique to Client? i'm wondering because IsClient() is only set to return a value of true in the definition of Client, but is false in Entity and Mob, and this leads me to believe the client check and cast would be superfluous.

for example, if i wanted to override Mob::IsEngaged() in client.h with

Code:
virtual inline bool IsEngaged() { return (IsAIControlled() ? !hate_list.IsEmpty() : AggroCount > 0);
would i be able to skip IsClient() and CastToClient() for each group member?

thanks in advance.
Old 10-31-2012, 11:32 AM
joligario
Developer

I'm guessing you mean overload. I'm not near the source right now, but if I am understanding you right, you can always stick that return as the first conditional check within the function.
Old 10-31-2012, 12:10 PM
c0ncrete
Dragon

i'm not familiar with the proper terminology, honestly. i've seen both and i guess i just chose the one that made the most sense in english to me.