Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Quests > Quests::Q&A

Quests::Q&A This is the quest support section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-15-2011, 06:21 PM
Ignorance
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: baconland
Posts: 14
Default set_proximity problems

I am having issues with set_proximity when a player is already inside the boundaries.
If inside before the call is made, neither an EVENT_ENTER or EVENT_EXIT is called.
This is troublesome to me as I want to translocate all players in the proximity when set_proximity is called.

If anyone knows the solution to this problem, or can offer a different way to implement proximity translocation, it would be much appreciated.

I don't necessarily need to use set_proximity, but I would like a way to translocate all players in a given area.

I can post the script if it helps.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-15-2011, 07:16 PM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

The easiest solution would be to just iterate through the client list and move all clients that are within a certain distance of the spawned translocator NPC. Here are some list iterating examples:

http://code.google.com/p/projecteqem...stIteration.pl

Then, in your list search, run this:
Code:
my $ClientDist = $ent->CalculateDistance($x, $y, $z);
Then just check if the distance is within the desired range and do $ent->MovePC() if so.
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-25-2011, 03:56 PM
Ignorance
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: baconland
Posts: 14
Default

@trevius
Thanks.
$ent->MovePC( zone_id, x, y, z, 0 ) worked for me.

Here is the actual code I used...
Code:
$clientx = 0; $clienty = 0; $clientz = 0;
@clientlist = $entity_list->GetClientList();
foreach $ent (@clientlist)
{
  $playerx = $ent->GetX();
  $playery = $ent->GetY();
  $playerz = $ent->GetZ();
  if( $playerx >= $LocationX1List[$locationNumber] && $playerx <= $LocationX2List[$locationNumber] )
  {
  if( $playery >= $LocationY1List[$locationNumber] && $playery <= $LocationY2List[$locationNumber] )
  {
  if( $playerz >= $LocationZ1List[$locationNumber] && $playerz <= $LocationZ2List[$locationNumber] )
  {
  # Client is within the boundries
    $ent->MovePC( 96, 4366.94, -12256.9, -265, 0 );
  }
  }
  }
}
I just do a simple bounding box check instead of a vector magnitude calculation.
Now that the code works, I have to port it back to template form.
I think I'll have to post the code for anyone who's interested.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:22 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3