|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Spell Support Broken Spells? Want them Fixed? Request it here. |
04-11-2012, 02:39 AM
|
|
Dragon
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 545
|
|
Bard instruments are not working on my server at all.
I'm currently in the creation process of making bard paths on my server but I noticed the instrument testing is a complete failure right now. I've tried SoF client and HoT and not a thing is working right. The instruments simply don't increase the bard's songs at all. I'm starting to wonder if I didn't update a certain file within my database, but I haven't had any problems besides this.
If I can't get the instruments to work I'll improvise by going into the songs and making all of them about five times stronger naturally, which honestly wouldn't be that bad with how my server works, but I would rather fix this problem first.
Any help here?
|
04-11-2012, 03:33 AM
|
|
Developer
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
|
|
I think they should be working. Maybe they just aren't showing up on the client properly. Have you tried checking #mystats or #myskills to see if the server is seeing something different than what the client is showing when using an instrument mod?
|
04-11-2012, 04:04 AM
|
|
Dragon
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 545
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by trevius
I think they should be working. Maybe they just aren't showing up on the client properly. Have you tried checking #mystats or #myskills to see if the server is seeing something different than what the client is showing when using an instrument mod?
|
I just did a test with chords of dissonance and a normal lute. 2.0. Which should double the damage of the spell.
I cast while singing.. does 7 damage.. I have lute equipped 7 damage.
My #showstats is displaying my character has 20 stringed but the damage of the spell is not jumping to 14 as it should. Tried this with brass song as well and nothing.
EDIT:
okay, I just did a test with selos and it appears to be working with the drum.. Why aren't the damage spells working? How odd.
|
04-11-2012, 02:55 PM
|
|
Dragon
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 545
|
|
After a series of testing it appears the only songs that are not effected are PBAOE spells. That's fine, I went into the spells and fixed all of them to be much stronger and made them singing so nobody has to worry about instruments not enhancing anything.
All of the other bard types are working fine, so this will do and the class is very balanced now.
Thanks for the help, hopefully a fix on the PBAOE spells will be added sometime.
I guess it isn't really a biggie though since there were only like 10 spells to fix.
|
04-11-2012, 03:48 PM
|
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,742
|
|
Do instrument mods affect those spells on live? If not, then you know why they don't on eqemu.
|
04-11-2012, 04:41 PM
|
Sarnak
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 80
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by lerxst2112
Do instrument mods affect those spells on live? If not, then you know why they don't on eqemu.
|
They absolutely do affect them on live.
|
04-11-2012, 04:50 PM
|
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,742
|
|
Looking at chords of dissonance which uses spell effect 334, I believe this is the problem.
From spell_effects.cpp:
Code:
case SE_BardAEDot:
{
effect_value = CalcSpellEffectValue(spell_id, i, caster_level);
Since the caster isn't passed in the instrument mods aren't calculated or used.
Last edited by lerxst2112; 04-11-2012 at 04:53 PM..
Reason: Didn't see spell name earlier.
|
04-13-2012, 12:32 AM
|
Dragon
|
|
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 965
|
|
where are you seeing that line? Because I don't see it in the current rev.
|
04-13-2012, 02:47 PM
|
Dragon
|
|
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 965
|
|
I'm still missing something. because
Code:
void Mob::DoBuffTic(int16 spell_id, int32 ticsremaining, int8 caster_level, Mob* caster) {
contains caster_level and caster, are we meaning they are not passed in to here from where dobufftic is called?
|
04-13-2012, 03:12 PM
|
|
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: May 2007
Location: b
Posts: 1,447
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by sorvani
I'm still missing something. because
Code:
void Mob::DoBuffTic(int16 spell_id, int32 ticsremaining, int8 caster_level, Mob* caster) {
contains caster_level and caster, are we meaning they are not passed in to here from where dobufftic is called?
|
We only pass the caster level currently. We'd need the rest of the mob object *OR* create a seperate function for determining bard calculations. Since all we do is pass the level, and not the instrument in question, we would need the client's inventory, and at that point it's just easier to pass a mob object.
|
04-13-2012, 03:45 PM
|
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,742
|
|
Changing it to:
Code:
effect_value = CalcSpellEffectValue(spell_id, i, caster_level, caster);
Should allow the mods to apply. I'm not a bard person, so I wouldn't know how to test it correctly.
|
04-13-2012, 10:15 PM
|
Dragon
|
|
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 965
|
|
yeah completely missed that. I feel smart! I'll test it out. Rebuilding my server now.
|
04-21-2012, 06:18 PM
|
Fire Beetle
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11
|
|
Any report if this change worked or not?
|
04-22-2012, 08:50 PM
|
Dragon
|
|
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 965
|
|
Sorry, thought I committed that. It is in rev 2134.
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:12 PM.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|